A Rambling Post About Knitting, The Holidays, Family And Quirks

I currently have one active knit on the needles. Saying that makes me realize I can cast on anything, everything I want. What a heady feeling. Anyway, the Sweet Summer Shawl has grown. I’ve started the decreases. Knitting it isn’t a chore. I enjoy the rhythm of the pattern. The needles I’m not thrilled with. 


They’re old and as you can see the color is worn away. They aren’t as smooth as they used to be. Somewhere I have an Addi Turbo circular needle in the same size but I can’t put my hand on it. It might be trapped in a UFO. I do wish I was more organized, and had more space. 

See the “pot” on the coffee table. Yes, it’s a chamber pot. It lived for over 25 years on my mother’s coffee table (which is now mine). It has a simple green houseplant in it. The Husband and I gave it to my mother for Mother’s Day years ago. When we lived all the way up in Maine (near Caribou for those that know the area) there was a wonderful antique store housed in a barn that we liked to look through. When we saw the “pot” I knew it was the kind of conversation piece my mother would love. I had the florist fill it with a beautiful display of flowers. My mother loved it and placed it on the coffee table. My father rolled his eyes as he always did at things that weren’t practical. 

I’m missing them as we move deeper into the holidays. We’re working on forging new traditions and it’s hard. I’ve got a tentative plan for this year with thoughts of different things for next year. Have you got your plans all sorted out? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in furniture, GiftAlong2016, Knits, knitting, Quirky Knitter, this place, Those crazy holidays, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Rambling Post About Knitting, The Holidays, Family And Quirks

  1. salpal1 says:

    The knitting looks great – I have loads of needles like that – used so often the finish is wearing off. I am slowly replacing them with Addis and Dreamz…time marches on! I love the chamber pot as a planter! Great way to use something like that, still functional but not the same use. šŸ™‚ Not sure I knew you once lived here in Maine – if you ever are coming back for a visit, give a shout! I live in Hancock County, but can drive most anywhere. It’s a Maine thing, as you know. Holiday plans – they are pretty well set – Christmas Eve day with in laws, Christmas Day at Mom’s with my family. It gets such a build up, then poof, in two days it is all done. I think building some new traditions is a good idea, sometimes, but it is hard to shed the old. I hope you find something to do that gives you pleasure and has meaning.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer says:

    It’s all about new traditions for us now. Having lost my husband 2 years ago the 17th and my Dad in 2000 on Christmas Eve (that was mean of him!) it’s been forever since Christmas felt like Christmas. My son said yesterday that it sure feels like the holidays! It does. Missing those who aren’t with us is hard this time of year. And I cannot imagine living up near Caribou – LOL I’m in Bangor and it feels kind of remote!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your shawl is looking lovely — I really like that gray! It looks beautiful in the garter and the lace. Hope you’re coming up with some nice holiday plans that can grow into traditions. One of my favorites is, at some point, I’m not quite sure when, my immediate family started doing a Christmas brunch after we opened presents — and after that, have a low key rest of the day. I like to have a quiet Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Renee Anne says:

    We’re still working on new family traditions, as well. We moved 2500 miles away from where both Husband and I grew up, with a small child in tow. We were just starting to get our own family traditions in place and then we had to start over. It’s still a WIP, honestly. As for knitting…..well, I’m not sure yet. I need to sit down with my Ravelry queue, my stash (hahahaha!), my WIPs, and we need to have a little chat. I also need to realize that next school year, I’m running the auction committee, which is going to take up an asinine amount of time, leaving less time for knitting. Sooooo, yeah. I’m going to have to have a think about that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tropmint says:

    The shawl is looking great! I love knitting with grey, such a timeless colour that goes with everything. In the days leading up to Christmas I always try to see as many friends as possible and we exchange small gifts and eat yummy food. It’s nice to remind each other and ourselves of the importance of maintaining those friendships that are more like family.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    The holidays are a bittersweet time of year here too. We’ve gone from having Christmas with a huge, real tree and a houseful of people from all over the country, or traveling all over the country ourselves, to a small, quiet holiday with just the two of us and an artificial tree. It’s different, but peaceful and I kind of like it now.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love the shawl, it looks like such a beautiful and easy pattern. Wow.
    Have a great year, and all the very best. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

