I Don’t Want To Freak Out

But I just might. It’s December. Our plans for the holidays are up in the air. I haven’t finished shopping. The tree isn’t up. It’s buried in the basement. Nothing is wrapped. Do I even have wrapping paper? The house is a mess. I’ve got no time to clean. I’ve got a bunch of obligations. I really just want to go back to bed. But these are all background noise to the two big things that are freaking me out.

IMG_1152

My big Christmas cactus hasn’t got a single bud on it. It has bloomed every year for the past 18 or so. I’m disappointed. I’m pretty sure it’s my fault. Normally it summers on the porch where it gets extra sun and plenty of neglect. I didn’t have space for it this year so it stayed it its normal spot and I watered it regularly. Crap!

IMG_1150

This tiny little plant has one bud. This is the plant that always sat on my parent’s kitchen table. I’ve kept it on my dining room table. I’m glad it’s got a bud. It’s the only white flowering one I have.

But the thing that is really freaking me out is the blog and the photo issue I’m having. Photobucket has been my photo hosting place of choice for as long as I’ve had a blog, 10 years anyway, and suddenly I can’t upload photos there. The web site is behaving strangely. I contacted the help desk and they have been less than helpful. “It’s a known issue and we’re working on it.” I revived my flickr account that I haven’t used in over 10 years and I am having trouble making it work. Obviously I’m stupid. I don’t have time to learn how to post passable photos. So please forgive me while I get a handle on the flickr thing, ignore the oversized photos and excuse the freaking out.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in plant, Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Don’t Want To Freak Out

  1. Stefanie says:

    Aiya; I’m sorry you’re having technology issues. That is a leafy cactus; I usually think of fat or tall ones with prickliness all over. Our tree isn’t up yet either. I hope to remedy that tomorrow. Thanksgiving Break was a bit stressful and flowed over to this week which has had an effect on me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bonnie says:

    I inherited my grandmother’s Christmas cactus with her house. I repotted them when I first moved in and they didn’t bloom for 2-3 years and then only sporadically. (They settled into a bit if an Easter routine for a while). This year I noticed buds so I’m cautiously hopeful for Christmas blooms. The green thumbs in my family say they don’t like disruptions (hence the revolt at the repotting). Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Christmas time is always so busy! I’m sorry things are not going as planned – at least your plants are still alive, I haven’t been able to keep one of those living past a couple of months. Maybe they will still bloom :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope your cactus has a sudden flower spree but I’ve no clue how to encourage it. And I hope your photos sort out too. I upload straight to my blog – but without great results. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. elpalchica says:

    I had to migrate to Flickr when picasa stopped hosting photos. It was very frustrating but it does work. However the portrait view was terrible and blurry. What I have to do for each photo that I want the URL for is click on the photo then click on “go to photo page” on bottom right, then right click, view page source, click Media tab, scroll to bottom, click last URL listed, highlight the address, Post into WordPress URL photo link.

    Like

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    But it was sooo hot this summer, maybe it’s a good thing the cactus wasn’t on the porch as usual. At least it looks nice and healthy. Maybe it just needed a year off (which sounds kind of good, doesn’t it??). Don’t freak out too much just yet. There’s still time to get things done.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You will get there, I am sure. I dont have a tree up either yet, and still have shopping to do as well.
    As for the plant, give it time, it may just surprise you. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Take it easy, holidays are holidays, and sometimes they drive you up the wall.
    Have a good week and take care.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. Take a moment to breathe. No matter how bad things appear at the moment Christmas will happen, will be fine, and no one will notice any jobs left undone or plants not in flower. Don’t be too hard on yourself – and take a moment to enjoy Christmas ๐Ÿ˜ƒ.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

