A Crappy Knitting Day

Don’t you just hate those days when your knitting just isn’t working out. I’ve spent my last two knitting evenings working equally on Milo and the Sweet Summer Shawl. Currently I’m not happy with either one. I made a wee mistake on Milo that is going to require patience and good lighting to fix. I’ll try to squeeze that in this afternoon assuming I get some daylight hours to do it. The Sweet Summer Shawl is a different sort of problem. I’m unhappy with the yarn, not that you can tell by the photo. The yarn has no bulk and no body. It’s like knitting with a thicker thread or light string. I think I’m going to hunt up another needle in the right size and try a different yarn. I think I can find a skein of something that might work better. I won’t rip out the current one until I’m sure I like the new version. 

Let’s hope today brings a better knitting day. How’s your knitting treating you? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in GiftAlong2016, Knits, Knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Crappy Knitting Day

  1. scyeung says:

    I hear you! I’ve been working with a yarn that I’m not so hot on as well the past 2 days. Something about the texture and stringy-ness of it… makes the knitting feel like a chore. Hang in there. Your shawl looks lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 says:

    I have been struggling with that most basic thing-a hat. Want to make it from some yarn i spun, but it feels a bit scratchy. Went to my go-to hat lining, anangora blend, but it is a much lighter weight. Cast it on, and am assuming i can do some decreasing when i switch to the original yarn. Time will tell.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gah! I feel you! I have been at these cables and when they roll, they roll! but damn, when things don’t make sense, it’s rough seas. I had to call in some help from my FB group when I just couldn’t manage anymore tries 🙂 Hoping things work out!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stefanie says:

    I’ve kind of taken the past couple of days off from knitting as I was up to elbows in cardstock for a 10 card challenge. But I want to knit today. Catching up on blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Your shawl looks pretty, but if you’re not happy with how it knits and feels then I guess it’s time to try a new yarn. I have been making great progress on my knitting – finished an Azalea shawl for a gift and started on a second one. They work up quickly with size 8 needles!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So sorry to hear that. It happens. You can do it, you always do! All the best, the patterns are still very pretty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. How frustrating. I hope things are better now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

