Thankfulness Thursday

Here in the US it’s Thanksgiving. We set aside today to show thankfulness, eat turkey and watch football, the odd game with the oval ball. I am thankful for all the usual things: family, friends, freedom… Lets do something a little different.

The things I am thankful for as a knitter:

  • Ravelry. They changed the world for fiber folks.
  • Knitting/Crochet blogs. I have knitter friends all over the world. I can learn from someone I will never meet.
  • Elizabeth Zimmermann. Her inovations influence me every day.
  • The person who first created self striping sock yarn. I love you and it more than I should admit.
  • Fancy stitch markers. Sure a loop of yarn will mark a spot for me but having beautiful jewelry for my WIPs elevates my knitting from craft to art.
  • My knitting group. Meeting a group of people who I probably wouldn’t have contact with otherwise has enriched my life greatly.
  • Fiber festivals. A place to worship with my people. There aren’t words for the overload of emotion that can be felt in one place.

I could go on and on. What are you thankful for as a yarn loving person?

If you are celebrating Thanksgiving I hope you have a wonderful day. If you are having a usual Thursday, enjoy! I hope everyone gets a little extra yarn time.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Those crazy holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thankfulness Thursday

  1. whip1up says:

    Circular needles!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Thanksgiving. We dont celebrate Thanksgiving in South Africa, as we have other days that are similar although not on the same day as yours.
    Im pretty much thankful for just about the same things as you. But I am also thankful to those who domesticated dogs and cats as pets. I adore my furry friends. πŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend, take care, stay warm, and enjoy. πŸ™‚ Specially the football. We have rugby, but a similar funny shaped ball.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Learning the toe up method of making socks! My grafting sucks.
    Hope you had a happy thanksgiving day πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stefanie says:

    I am thankful for just being able to have this skill of knitting to turn yarn into loops into something great.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I agree with your list and what others have said. I would also add YouTube – it’s a great resource when you need to SEE a technique being done. And I am especially thankful for the group of friends I have made through knitting! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

