What Do You Think? 

I have completed the Field of Wildflowers hat. It came out really cute. The fit is very good though my head required an extra repeat of the pattern, mostly because I wanted to be sure I got full coverage of my ears and had the option of flipping up the ribbing for those really cold and windy shoveling days. 

I’ve noticed that this season pompoms are in. So I was considering putting one on this hat. What do you think: pompom or no? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy's Monthly Mixer, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What Do You Think? 

  1. trinagallop says:

    I LOVE this hat. I’m a simple, clean lines kinda person so I vote “no” pompom. But go with your intuition. 😀

    PS – You’ve inspired me to put this pattern in my raverly favs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Renee Anne says:

    I am NOT a fan of poms. I don’t know what it is about them but for me, they just detract from the hat. However, ask someone that doesn’t mind them what they think and they might tell you it could use one (or it could go either way, really).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. madgeface says:

    I like it without the pompom, but it occurs to me that you could make it a detachable pompom by sewing a button onto the ends that would thread through your hat bind off, that way you could wear the pompom or not, depending on your mood.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. scyeung says:

    Very lovely hat! What beautiful colours and stitch pattern. I vote nay on the pom pom, but that’s just my personal bias! 🙂 Congrats on this.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. elpalchica says:

    My nieces are wearing hats with pompoms and they look really cute. I made a hat similar to yours last year though and I like mine without the pompom. Consider shoveling- will a floppy pompom annoy you?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. soknitsome says:

    Your hat’s lovely. I don’t think it needs a pompom.

    Like

  7. chrisknits says:

    I think it would be good with or without. I love the stitch pattern!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is a stunning pattern, and the yarn is perfect for it. Great colour.
    I am not much for pompoms, and I do like your hat just the way it is. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I think it looks very nice as it is but I also think a pom pom would be great. I like the detachable suggestion 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Yes! A medium size, detachable pom pom!! It will make your hat double cute (it’s already cute)!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Very nice, but I would also go without the pom pom. It would still be pretty if you feel it would add to your enjoyment (and may also provide extra insulation?)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Silvernfire says:

    I’m not a fan of pom poms myself, but this isn’t my hat. Do *you* like them?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Stefanie says:

    I love a good pom pom but if it’s not your style, then don’t make one for it. The pattern and the yarn go well together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

