It Feels Weird

img_1122The Evil Stocking is done and blocking. I can’t tell you how I felt last night when I was sewing up the seam. It was a lightness, a freeing feeling. I was no longer chained to this project. The relief is great. The stocking is adequate. It meets the requirements. I will not knit another like this. It made no sense. The blocks of color are so small. I had so many bobbins of yarn going at a time. Weaving in the ends was hellish. It was by far the least pleasant thing I have ever knit. I will not share the link to the pattern. If someone asks you to knit this for them run fast in the opposite direction!

I will have to knit another stocking. The family who is getting this stocking is having another baby in January. It will not be like this one. I will choose the pattern, a better more logical pattern. I’ll stick with the same bright colors but I want something a little lot more knitter friendly.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Those crazy holidays, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It Feels Weird

  1. Wow! I hope they appreciate how painstaking this project was xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim says:

    Well done for completing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. scyeung says:

    Bravo! The stocking is beautiful and the colour work is very intricate. I can only imagine how painstaking it was to knit. Thanks for sharing an honest account of its creation!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stefanie says:

    A terrific outcome! What super intarsia skills you have. Now you can move on.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Congratulations! Your persistence paid off! They will be so happy with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well done, it is perfect. A lot of hard work, and I really hope they appreciate it. That is awesome. All the best with knitting the next one, in a pattern of your choice, of course. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think the people who design these stockings do not know how to knit!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kathyreeves says:

    Well done, advice heeded, I will NEVER knit a Christmas stocking…only cross stitch or sew!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Saturday Secret  | NothingButKnit

Leave a Reply

