Passionate Sock Talk

Are you bored? I am. I’m getting tired of looking at these same projects week after week. I guess that is the problem with working on a bunch of stuff at once. No real progress is made on any one thing. They all seem to move along at a glacial pace. At least with the Speeder sock I have passed the half way point and I am ever so slowly heading towards the finished object line. And now that I have completed almost all of the first sock, yes, I am quirky about waiting to have both socks done before I kitchener the toe, I can discuss the fit.

Looking at the way these are knit compared with the way I usually knit my sock, heel flap and gusset, I had concerns about the fit. I pictured in my mind a wrinkle of sock fabric where the leg meets the foot. I had almost prepared myself for that. And you know what, it isn’t bad at all. It is no worse than a well fitting commercial sock. There is just the tiniest wrinkle. I knit this sock on my favorite Skacel size 1 1/2 needles. The needles I use for the vast majority of my socks. I have knit enough socks to know how many stitches I like for a stockinette sock. That would be 64 thank you very much. So when I decided on a size for these socks I went with the 3rd of the 4 sizes which happens to be 64 stitches. There are 2 purl stitches on each side of the leg. This creates a little extra give to the fabric that I thought might be necessary to account for the lack of gusset. Well, no, that isn’t the case. These fit me very well in the calf and are just the tiniest bit looser at the ankle. Not enough for it to bother me but enough for me to think that maybe a 60 stitch sock would be perfect. I like my socks to be fitted with a bit of negative ease. If I’m going to knit custom socks I want them to fit exactly the way I want. Is this not exactly perfect, though near perfect, fit going to cause me to rip out the first sock and start again? No f-ing way!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy's Monthly Mixer, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Passionate Sock Talk

  1. Kim says:

    Still chuckling at the final sentence 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Ha, ha! But at least you know what to do if you ever make this pattern again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

