Interesting Experiment

The Husband was in charge of the garden this year. He picked the plants and did all the planting. I helped out with the watering. He planted all the usual suspects: tomatoes, green peppers, cucumbers, and then two new to us items: spaghetti squash and sweet potatoes. We had a hot, dry summer with very little rain. I tried my best to keep things watered but it was hard to keep up. The cucumbers fizzled out pretty quickly. The plants were OK but maybe I overwatered them. The cucumbers turned yellow before they were near full size. The tomatoes did great. We ate tons of both beef steak and cherry varieties. They always do well. The green pepper plants seemed stunted. Each plant got one pepper. They seemed to go from green almost ripe to red overnight. The spaghetti squash was weird. The plants only did OK but there were at least 6 squashes though only two made it to picking size. They were still smaller. The weirdest thing was the sweet potatoes. We’ve never grown them before. They aren’t a crop normally grown around here. Above is the entire crop sitting in the lid of a barrel. They are very small and oddly shaped, compared to what I normally see in the grocery store. We looked them over, took this photo and dumped them into the compost. I think they are best purchased at the grocery store.

I’m sure we’ll try a few new crops next year. It’s always fun to watch something grown that we usually only see ready to buy. I keep telling The Husband that we should try growing peanuts. We all love peanuts.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in garden, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interesting Experiment

  1. Interesting. I am sure they are betting in the compost heap. Great job at planting. It always turns out fun, regardless of what grows and what does not.
    🙂 enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim says:

    I’m a terrible gardener so I’m impressed if someone can grow anything. I tried tomatoes and, like you, decided that some things are better bought at our local farm shop.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    At least you tried! We tried growing some fingerling potatoes and they turned out to miniatures! I think they were too crowded and didn’t grow to full size. We ate them though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

