A Little Fall Cleaning

The other day I spent a bit of time cleaning out the stash. I hadn’t gone through the buckets in a while and knew there were things in there I wasn’t going to use. It was so much fun to revisit the lovely yarn that I liked enough to bring home but haven’t yet knit. This is the majority of what I like to call prime stash. There is a pretty good mix of single skeins and sweater quantities. Much is what I would consider to be workhorse yarn. There are a couple of skeins too pretty or special to knit. I did make a couple of observations as I was going through it.

  • I like blue and gray. If you want me to buy your yarn those are the only colors you have to stock.
  • I have less sock yarn than I thought. Yes, I was shocked too.
  • I could knit for years with what I have. That isn’t going to stop me from buying yarn.

There is a subset of stash that I hold on to just because.

  • Just because someday I might need it.
  • Just because someday I might want to knit a bunch of baby things.
  • Just because it was given to me.
  • Just because I have it doesn’t mean I ever plan to knit it.

In the process of going through the stash I was able to photograph some of it for Ravelry so I’ll actually know what I have buried down there.I was also able to fill a couple of bags and pass those skeins on to someone who will knit them.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Little Fall Cleaning

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Quick! You better replenish your sock yarn supply!! Maybe you will have an opportunity to do that coming up in November. πŸ™‚ I suspect if I ever get to sort my yarns as thoroughly as you did, that I would come to many of the same conclusions (except my colors would all be blues and purples!). It must have felt great to wrangle the yarn into a more organized system.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim says:

    I am in a similar position with cloth. Lots I want, some I like too much to make up, and some I probably wont ever use….. but I might so it stays!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. salpal1 says:

    A few years ago I got all of mine sorted and stowed, and I have been slowly knitting form stash but adding to it in great quantities. I am now afraid to get it out and see if it has grown or shrunk…. πŸ™‚ You inspire me, though, to try. Well, to try to think about it.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Renee Anne says:

    I’m scared to go through my stash. I have an entire closet filled with rubbermaid bins. I know at last count, I had enough sock yarn to make something like 200 pairs of socks (which means I have about 20,000 g of sock yarn…or about 700 oz of sock yarn…which equates to about 44 POUNDS of sock yarn. And then there’s all the worsted and lace and DK and Aran and sport and even the bulky and the fiber….

    I think I’m well beyond SABLE.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Stefanie says:

    I need to rephotograph my stash. I didn’t like what I had so I actually deleted everything. I keep planning to give away yarn remnants but in participating in these mini swaps I find I need a small ball here or there.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. elpalchica says:

    You had Gorgeous stuff! I was sad I had to leave early so I couldn’t pick up the “dregs”, i.e. the Gorgeous stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So many pretty skeins and yarn to adore. LOL. I need to get home and stash dive. πŸ™‚
    Have fun and a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

