Things You Shouldn’t Watch

They say there are two things you shouldn’t see being made: laws and sausage. Can I add one more thing to that list- cables being fixed. Last night when I was knitting I discovered a miss-crossed cable about 8 rows down. Fortunately it was one of the simple cables near the edge. This isn’t the first time I’d corrected a miss-crossed cable in knitting but this is the first time I’ve done it 8 rows down with additional crosses in between. I captured the two stitches below the last correct row and dropped my stitches. They ran down faster than one would expect with a wool yarn but this yarn is super soft so I shouldn’t have been surprised. I used the two crochet hooks I keep in my tool pouch, neither was exactly the correct size but I made it work. I crossed the first cable correctly and then completed the rows before the next cable cross. After the second cable cross I did the final plain rows and then all was right in the world. Immediately I felt a rush of relief. I didn’t even realize how tense it made me to correct this error. Now I’m back on the right path and making progress. So have you done anything new lately?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things You Shouldn’t Watch

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Very impressive – like performing surgery on your knitting! I haven’t attempted anything new knitting-wise recently (unless hoarding several skeins from a recent yarn give away counts!).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bravo! A good fix, but I’m not sure if I would have been brave enough to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

