WIP Wednesday: Curses!!

So last night I was happily knitting along on the First Crush cowl. I was knitting at a good pace and seemed to be completing row after row in no time at all. I turned it in my hand to admire my work and *blink**blink* cursed a string of words not meant for blog reader’s ears. I had made a mistake. A big mistake. An obvious mistake. A &#%*@^ mistake quite a few rows back. I crossed the blasted cable the wrong way. See it center top mocking me and my knitting prowess. It took everything I had to not throw it to the floor and stomp on it. I considered ripping the whole thing out and starting again. I considered leaving it where Myles could have his way with it. I considered giving up knitting entirely and taking up yoga or sculpting balloon animals but I didn’t. I calmly tinked back a couple of rows, thought of the blog and took a photo. I then placed it into my knitting bag, took out the iPad and played mindless games until it was time for bed. Sometimes knitting (and I suppose knitters) need a time out. Now that I have calmed down and I’m no longer seething over my own stupidity I can tell you that the color of the yarn is nearly correct in this photo. That is something nice I can say about it. Now I’m going to try to patiently repair the mistake and move the &#%@ on.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Curses!!

  1. Aaahh, the joys of knitting. I am sure you will be able to fix it, as you always do.
    Perfect colour in the yarn, it is stunning.
    Enjoy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 says:

    love the yarn, will love the cowl when it is done. I hate when I do things like that as well, BUT it is fixable, the yarn is not ruined, and you like to knit, right? A teacher I once had said she didn’t; worry about frogging, because it just meant she got to knit more with some yarn she loves. It is a good thing to remind myself when I have to back up several rows for an error. Hope it helps you, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karin says:

    I so feel your pain! I noticed a missed increase in my current shawl – eight rows down… Tinking was out of the question, I did an afterthought lifeline and allowed myself the joy of full-on frogging. I’m caught up and beyond now but… Whew!! There’s no getting away from mistakes, no matter how long you’ve been a Knitter.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh, that’s so frustrating! I’m sure you’ll get it sorted out. But if not, I really do like the idea of sculpting balloon animals! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dawnhiprose says:

    Oh dear! I know the feeling…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kim Hood says:

    Very frustrating – but at least yarn is forgiving in these circumstances and you get a second (and sometimes more) chance. Knit on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

