Autumn Is Coming

Thursday to be exact. I’m not happy when Autumn arrives. I love summer. I love the long sunny carefree days. I love that rules can be relaxed and there is no schedule. Every day can be planned that morning and doing nothing but reading or knitting is an option. But then the days start to get shorter and school starts. With that comes early mornings, early to bed and all the other things that creep onto the schedule.

Over the weekend we participated in a couple of activities to try to usher Autumn in happily and with celebration instead of tears. We headed to the apple orchard and picked a massive amount of apples. I neglected to take any photos of this activity so you’ll just have to take my word for it and look at the little proof I have. That’s apple crisp. Go ahead and click the picture to get the recipe. It’s a good one. Totally worth peeling and slicing 10 cups of apples. I don’t know how much 10 cups of apple slices is so I just peeled and sliced until the pan was about half full, about 8 good sized apples. I followed the recipe exactly except for one tiny thing. I put in a teaspoon and a half of apple pie spice instead of the cinnamon. We like the flavor of that and it doesn’t require messing with a bunch of spices.

How do I like mine? Warm with a little vanilla ice cream on the side of course. It was so good that I had a serving for breakfast the next morning, but without the ice cream. If you’re having trouble welcoming Autumn may I suggest you pick some apples and make some apple crisp. It will make you feel a little better about losing your pal Summer.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in baking, food, Guilty Pleasures. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Autumn Is Coming

  1. Your apple crisp looks wonderfully delicious. I would probably overindulge and have it with custard or cream. πŸ™‚
    And feel free to send Fall / Autumn my way, I much prefer the Fall and Winter seasons. πŸ™‚
    Take care and enjoy the last bits of warmth while you still can.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just to let you know, as I am reading your post, I can actually smell the spices. πŸ™‚ overactive imagination.
    Off the get some blueberry pancakes, as its the closest I’m going to get right now. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That looks soooo good, and I bet it smells even better! That would definitely make me happier about fall! πŸ™‚ What kind of apples did you pick?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I was soon happy to see the first jugs of fresh pressed cider in the store last week. Now I need to go get apples for crisp. Thanks for the Apple love.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yup, always sad to say “see ya” to summer :-/
    Totally ❀ apple crisp, though!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ’œ Jackie@KWH

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

