Looking For A Win

After stuffing the stocking in a bag and placing it in the corner (it will learn, or maybe I will) I needed a project that would be a win. I can’t put my hand on my size 3 double pointed needles to knit the sleeves of the baby cardigan. They’re here, somewhere. I just can’t put my hand on them right now. I’ll keep looking. They’ll turn up. So I picked out a skein of yarn that I got for Loopy Academy, the Shalimar Yarns Breathless DK in gunmetal, and cast on First Crush by Kalurah Hudson. It’s for the nupps, bobbles or popcorn requirement. First Crush is a cowl with buttons at one end and many cables in the body. I knew right away when I saw it that I would knit it. I love cables and I really wanted a new cowl with buttons so I could wear it in multiple ways.

I cast on Friday night thinking I’d make it through a dozen rows or so before bed. That didn’t happen. I got stuck on row 7. There is a jump in the number of stitches and then a decrease over 2 rows and I just could not do it. I knit from the chart, Wrong. I knit from the written instructions, still wrong. I counted and counted the stitches. Wrong. Wrong. Wrong. I shoved it into a bag and went to bed. Sometimes you just can’t win! Saturday I pulled it out again, ripped it off the needles and started again. Sometimes the vibes are just wrong and starting over is best. I cast on again and knit rows 1-6 without issue. Row 7 started shaky but after turning off my overthinking brain I made it to the end with the correct number of stitches on the needle. I then added all you see above without a single problem. YAY! The pattern is complex with many types of cable crosses but the rows are short so they are easy to get through. The yarn is softer than soft. I have never used Shalimar yarn and couldn’t be happier at the thought of this being around my neck.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking For A Win

  1. salpal1 says:

    Oooh, pretty! Glad you sorted out row 7!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I like everything about this project (except that you had problems with row 7)!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stefanie says:

    This looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lissymail says:

    love your cables! so plump!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

