Can A Project Be Cursed?

Or is it just the knitter who is cursed?

In the spring I was asked if I could knit a Christmas stocking for my Goddaughter’s baby. She wanted one that is similar to the ones her late grandmother had knit for her family 25-30 years ago. Of course I immediately said yes. A knitter lives for stuff like this! Someone asking for a hand knit because they love a hand knit they already have. This is a knitters fantasy. I told her to pick out a pattern so I’d know what she wanted and I’d have it for her in the fall. A couple of weeks later her mother got in touch and told me that they had decided on this pattern. I bought the pattern and decided to go with Red Heart yarn since I knew that would go with the others they already have. I read through the pattern. There isn’t much to it really. I gathered the needles and yarn and cast on. I knit the amount you see above and ripped out. It wasn’t quite right. The stitches were a little wonky. I cast on again and made it a bit farther but ripped back again because when I got through the rocking horse section it was a little puckered. I cast on again and what you see above is where I am. It looks OK but I feel dread. I just know the rocking horse section is going to pucker again. The yarn is so unforgiving. I can’t say it’s going to block out because it isn’t going to. I can’t decide if it’s me, the pattern or the yarn. I have to get this done. I really only have about 6 weeks. They’ll want it by Thanksgiving. I don’t know what to do. Do I keep going and hope for the best? Do I order some Cascade 220 and just knit it in wool and tell them NOT TO WASH IT IN THE WASHING MACHINE? Should I just knit the sections plain and duplicate stitch the designs? Entering witness protection is not an option. And did I mention that they’re having another baby in January and they want a second stocking? What do you suggest?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Can A Project Be Cursed?

  1. Michelle says:

    I knit a baby sweater for my great-niece out of acrylic yarn this summer and the edge curled something wicked. I tried blocking it (it didn’t work). I googled and searched and came across a fee sites explaining how to steam block acrylic without melting it (yikes!). I followed the instructions closely and it worked! The edge layed flat, the stitches were even, the knitting was smooth and it looked amazing. Steam blocking is one option.

    Or, like you said, Cascade 220 so you can give it a proper wool blocking. You could even use Lion Brand wool from Michael’s or Joann’s…if you don’t want to wait for shipping.

    Please forgive any typos! It’s 4:30 AM and I’m typing this on my phone 😉

    Keep us posted!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silvernfire says:

    Can you knit it with a machine-washable acrylic/wool blend like Plymouth Encore or Lion Brand Wool-Ease? Is it puckering because you’re pulling the yarn too tightly as you carry it across the back (and if so, can you train yourself to reduce the tension in time to get this done by deadline?)?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jewel says:

    I vote for changing the yarn. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. chrisknits says:

    Knit it inside out. Hold it so the right side is on the inside of the tube. This helps lengthen the floats as they are going around the “outside” as you knit. Tension is the issue, learning to leave more ease in your floats is the answer. Or duplicate stitch.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Definitely new yarn, as others have said. Why be miserable?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kim Hood says:

    I’m with the change yarn brigade (and isn’t there a machine washable option in Cascade?). The knitting inside out to lengthen the floats sounds an interesting option though.
    Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. blinkingcat says:

    I know I am late to the party for the first one you made, but for the second if you haven’t found a fix you like try going up one needle size for the puckering area. Then go back to your other set of needles for the rest of the stocking.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

