The Other Things I Wrestled

I was talking about how I had participated in the Ravellenics Games. I was part of the WIPs Wrestling event. During Camp Loopy and Loopy Academy I usually have a week or so after I complete the project for that month or the group of projects to knit something else. I’ve been trying to dig into stash and use some of the yarn that’s been hanging around.

In May I cast on the pattern Swirl E. Socks by Susie White in Fibernymph Dye Works Bounce in tartan. I quickly knit through both socks placing the kitchener needing toes on stitch holders and then they just sat and sat and sat. I kept looking at them and thinking how I only needed a short half hour to have a completed pair of socks. But I did nothing. They were a prime candidate for the Ravellenics so they were entered. On August 16th the urge struck and I kitchenered those toes as quick as could be! YAY! The yarn is yummy and the pattern just a little something extra that doesn’t mess with the stripes.

With a big win I looked for other time to wrestle the other WIP I’d entered. These plain socks had been cast on when I set the Swirl E. Socks aside. They needed part of a heel, all the foot and toe. August 17 I found myself with a full afternoon and evening so I grabbed the sock and wrestled it into a FO! The yarn is Hedgehog Fibres sock in typewriter that was a gift from my knitting neighbor Liz. The pattern is my usual 64 stitch sock pattern that I keep in my head. Lovely yarn all the way from Ireland made knitting the socks seem so exotic. They come from a place I have never been but some of my ancestors came from. There’s a lot of emotions knit into these socks. I look forward to wearing them when the weather turns colder, but we don’t want to rush that cold weather.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FO, Knits, Knitting, Ravellenics2016, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Other Things I Wrestled

  1. Stefanie says:

    Love your typewriter socks. I didn’t make the finish line this year but that’s okay. I had fun participating in what I could.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. elpalchica says:

    You must be delighted with how those typewriter socks turned out! I really hoped they would look like a typewritten page and they do!!! Can I see them in person soon?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

