Kitchen Experiment

While N was on vacation from school we thought it would be fun to try making homemade pasta. N is a pasta fiend. He could eat it every meal every day for weeks on end. It’s always been his go to comfort food. We mixed up the dough and got everything all set up.

I had bought the pasta machine for my mother eons ago and had vague memories of her making pasta more than a few times back in the 80’s and 90’s. I expected it to be easy, well maybe not so much easy but doable. I found it incredibly frustrating. Getting the dough the right texture so it would pass easily through the rollers was a challenge. The piles of noodles, we made fettuccine since the spaghetti wouldn’t come out of the machine in individual strands, stuck together and there wasn’t room in my kitchen to lay them out flat.

The pasta did cook up just fine and based on how much N ate it tasted really good. I would like to give it a try again when the weather is warmer so I can use the porch table as a holding area for the already rolled pasta. The Husband wants ravioli. H wants lasagna. To be honest, I’m happy with the Barilla out of the box. I’m not a big lover of pasta but don’t tell them that.

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kitchen Experiment

  1. I love pasta, and yours surely looks very delicious. Keep going, you are doing an excellent job. 🙂

    Like

  2. looks tasty 🙂

    Like

  3. chrisknits says:

    I adore pasta, but not enough to do hand made. It’s more the complete meal that I love, rather than a certain pasta.

    Like

  4. ellen says:

    My son is a pasta fiend as well. But I’m with you I can enjoy the project aspect of wanting to make pasta from scratch (I haven’t done it) but really, I’m just fine with the stuff in the store 😉

    Good on you for being such an adventurous soul.

    Like

  5. Aren’t you brave. That’s on my bucket list. Just seems like a lot of mess! Fun though, I bet…with enough wine for momentum/motivation. xoxo

    Like

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Again, you are a very brave woman! 🙂 It must have been a fun project to do with N, though. I have had fresh pasta a few times and it is really good, but you’re right – is it really worth all that work when you can buy a box of any shape you want??

    Like

Leave a Reply

