Works In Progress

I have a twofer today! One is a work in progress and the other a finished object. They are tied together because of each other.

First I have my first 2016 finished object, a lovely little scarf/shawl I knit with yarn I bought at the New England Fiber Festival in November. This yarn has to come close to being the shortest stay in the stash yarn. The yarn is Holiday Yarns FlockSock in black jack. I saw this same scarf hanging in the booth at the fiber festival and I just couldn’t walk away from it. I tried but I turned right back around and bought the yarn.  I don’t know if it was the gray and pink yarn or the cool way it is knit with the Strandwanderer pattern. I had to make it! I really loved knitting the yarn. It is a lovely sock yarn and I will be buying more. The pattern is simple and easy to follow. The short rows are a little soul sucking by the time you reach the last few long rows of them but a few good tv shows and I survived just fine. If you enjoy patterns with different/interesting construction I recommend this one. It’s fun to watch the scarf emerge.

I’ll bet you’re thinking I sunk to a new low with the finished object on the clutter counter photo. I would have loved a beautifully composed photo of the scarf on my black leather couch but this is the state of my living room at the moment. Yes, open windows in January. It’s invigorating and saving us from the paint fumes.

How about the railing? The scarf would look lovely dangling over the edge. Yeah, a mess. The dining room is worse. Picture the above with workmen and paint brushes. We are a work in progress at the moment. The living room and dining room are being painted in preparation of the arrival of the new to us furniture that will reside here. It almost makes me feel like a grown up.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FO, Knits, Knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Works In Progress

  1. Your scarf is very pretty. What a stunning pattern. All the best with the painting at home, I am sure it will be awesome when they are done. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing it later.

    Like

  2. Stefanie says:

    How exciting – a refreshing of the living room. Love how you have old fashioned stairs. The shawl is fun. It’s so neat how the colourway came out that way.

    Like

  3. Janet says:

    Love the way the yarn and scarf worked together. Should be a fun piece to wear.

    Like

  4. avantaknits says:

    What a fabulous scarf! Great colorway, great pattern. Repainting the living room and dining room is on our list of projects, too. What color did you choose for the walls?

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That scarf in that yarn is so perfect! I can see why you just HAD to go back and buy it (and I’m kicking myself that I didn’t buy any!). I have to say that you are a brave woman to tackle a painting job right after Christmas – yikes! But, I bet it looks really nice.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Indecision | NothingButKnit

Leave a Reply

