Gifts and Hindrances

  Everyone has things they are really good at without trying. I guess we’d call them gifts. I am particularly gifted when it comes to travel and directions. As I’ve mentioned before I don’t need a map to get places. I have an internal GPS that gets me where I want to be and once I’ve been somewhere once I have no problem finding my way back even if years have past. Unfortunately I have a major hindrance that is related to giving directions or following instructions: left and right. Those two simple words that denote direction leave me fluster. If I am ever in the passenger seat of your car be warned: I have serious issues with telling left from right. I blame it on two things. First, I probably should have been left handed. I do many things like a lefty though I write with my right hand. That may have been imposed in Catholic school when I was 4. Second, when we were taught left and right in that same Catholic school I had a really hard time remember which was which and being told that you write with your right hand really didn’t help when my urge was to use my left. How does this relate to my knitting? Well, as I work on Ridgely with my 3 skeins of yarn being used actively in many rows I keep forgetting which way to turn my work at the end of a row so I limit the tangling of the yarn. I’m having to stop every few rows to untangle a big mess. At least the knitting is going along well and it only took one attempt to get this far along. Maybe by the time I’m half way through I’ll have that clockwise/counter clockwise left/right thing figured out. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gifts and Hindrances

  1. Kepanie says:

    Maybe you can keep a written tab on how you turned the work last time? I use a phone app called Bee Knitting for my Android and it helps me keep track of everything. It just takes a smidge of time to get it down.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    I have the complete opposite when it comes to internal GPS. Seriously, I have to THINK, always, of where I’m going and how to get there….even places I go to several times a week! I have a broken internal compass 😦 My natural inclination is to go east. Always with the east…it’s like the ocean is a magnet.

    That being said, I am also knitting a striped shawl and I have no troubles whatsoever with tangled yarn 😉 So there must be something to your theory!

    Like

  3. Michelle says:

    Oops, meant to mention, your shawl is beautiful! The colors look great together and I’m digging the stripes!

    Like

  4. ellen says:

    I think my sister was supposed to be a lefty too, for the types of reasons you describe. She too has an excellent sense of direction, but the left to right thing, eegads, ha!

    Well, regardless, it’s a beautiful start on your knitting.

    Like

  5. chrisknits says:

    My daughter uses lemonade and pretzel to remember L/R, but lemonade is right? LOL

    Like

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    You’ve got a good start on your shawl! I have a lot of trouble with left and right too – I kick left-footed, I open doors, bottles and jars left-handed, and I eat and write right-handed. When I’m driving and J tells me to turn right, I always start to turn left, and J says “no, your other right!” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

