Post Whole 30

We’ve spent this post Whole 30 period adding back a few things one at a time and paying close attention to how they make us feel. BUT for the most part we have stuck with the plan. I’ve even lost another pound.

My observations are pretty simple. I only missed two things: toast and ice cream. On day 31 I made myself some toast at lunchtime. We love our pan-fried potatoes with onions (most days sweet potatoes, occasionally white potatoes) topped with a fried egg so having toast for breakfast was unnecessary. After I ate my delicious Tuscan white pane with just a smidgen of butter I felt icky. My stomach felt inflated and I was feeling pretty sluggish. It was enough of a turn off that I didn’t eat toast again until yesterday when I ate some Italian bread toasted. I felt less icky but still not as good as I had on the days I didn’t eat any bread. I guess bread is one of those things I’ll be eating very little of.

Photo is historical only. Actual ice cream was eaten too quickly to take a photo. And I forgot. I had Ice Cream haze.

Yesterday after thinking about it for 35 days I got to have some ice cream, I knew if I was going to eat ice cream it had to be my most favorite ice cream. The one I think of as being perfect. The one I dream about. The one I would roll around naked in, wait, strike that. This is a G rated blog. So off we went to Kimball Farm where I got a small dish of Coffee Oreo. It was delicious. It was exactly what I needed. I savored every bite. The Husband got some other flavor that looked like vanilla but with stuff in it. Coffee Oreo is the only flavor that exists in my world. The Husband enjoyed it going down. He said it was good. By the time we got home He had regret. Major regret. Even this morning He had regret. I think he’s lactose intolerant. H and N are lactose intolerant so He may be as well. Isn’t it strange they are all allergic to penicillin too and I’m not. More ice cream for me, and penicillin too!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Post Whole 30

  1. I have been craving good chocolate ice cream big time lately…Might have to grab some at the grocery store later. Makes knitting that much better…

    Like

  2. Kepanie says:

    That’s an interesting combination for ice cream. I’m so happy, knock on wood, that I can eat ice cream, bread, cheese, and peanut butter.

    Like

  3. looks divine and yummy! (note to self, stop on the way home and get ice-cream!) 🙂

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Glad to hear you are sticking with the plan but with a few special treats along the way! Isn’t it amazing to eat something you love that you haven’t had for awhile – it tastes 10 times better and you REALLY appreciate it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

