FO Friday: Confessions Of Lazy Blocker

I finally got all the stuff together to block Sweet Tantalate, my Loopy Academy extra credit project. It really isn’t a lot of stuff but I do have to dig out the blocking mats and the pins and then run some water in the sink, which I have to clean first, and then get the Eucalan and soak the shawl. The only thing that got me going on this is the fact that I need my living room next week and having a shawl sprawled out on the floor doesn’t make a very good impression or work for traffic flow.

As you can see in the first photo I am a lazy blocker. I don’t measure . I don’t fuss. Basically I squeeze the water out with a dry towel and flop it on the mat. From there I just stick in some pins and call it good when it looks like I can wear it and have it look blocked. There will be no award for this blocking but the shawl looks good on and that is my only concern. It looks perfectly blocked in the second photo and I am nearly as bumpy as the Hosta.

I sort of went crazy with the photos. I wanted one that showed the color and stunningly enough I got one! That never happens. The pattern, Swwet Tartalate by Lindsey Freeman is very well written. It’s fun to knit but tricky in spots. I just couldn’t remember some of the pattern rows which made it very slow. I also discovered I had made errors but not until I was 2 rows further along. This made for some frustration and plenty of ripping back.

As for the yarn, it’s Cascade Heritage silk in marine blue. I love the color but the yarn was a bit splity when I was knitting. A short trip into the sink for blocking left it a bit fuzzy. I can’t say I would use it again. As for the shape of the shawl, I really like it. It sits nicely on my shoulders and doesn’t seem to require a shawl pin. Would I knit it again? Maybe. I’d want to use a nice silk and wool blend, something very soft with a lot of drape.

If you’d like to read more FO Friday posts be sure to visit Freshly Finished Friday with hardknitlife and Flash Your Finishes.

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FOF, Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to FO Friday: Confessions Of Lazy Blocker

  1. You did a superb job with this shawl. The pattern and colour is so very beautiful.
    And I absolutely love your pictures, you are making a huge impression! 🙂 I adore the outside picture, as I can see a small glimpse of your part of the world. Thanks indeed.
    🙂

    Like

  2. chrisknits says:

    It’s lovely! The blocking wires would definitely help on making it even. I used that yarn for my niece’s wedding shawl and I don’t recall it fuzzing. But maybe because it was a cream color it didn’t show as much.

    Like

  3. iknead2knit says:

    I’m a lazy blocker also!

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    It’s like a peacock preening for all the works to see. Lovely job.

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I love the photo of your shawl on the white fence!

    Like

  6. Amy Putkonen says:

    That is a very intricate pattern. Fun to come back and see it done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

