6KCBWDAY1: If You Were Yarn

Day One (Monday 11th May): If You Were Yarn.
If you were a type or brand of yarn, which would you be? Are you a classic pure wool? Is there extra tension but a bit of bounce in you because of your high twist? Would you be more like a high-maintainance, strictly hand-wash fluffy angora or a ‘bring it on’ acrylic, bravely heading into the world of possible baby-sick laundering disasters knowing that you will always come out bright and unharmed?

Spend some time browsing yarns and getting to know their qualities, and decide which yarn you think best matches your personality.


 

If I was yarn I know I wouldn’t be cashmere, angora, or qiviut. I am not delicate, or overly soft. I am not rare. I am not cotton or mohair. I am not stiff or spikey. I think I am a nice wool/nylon blend. I am soft but not too soft. I can take the good and the bad. Mostly I am quiet and understated. So I must be sock yarn. A nice sturdy sock yarn like Opal or Regia. I roll with the punches and am strong when I need to be. I can go through wild storms and come out no worse for the wear much like socks going through the washer and dryer. I like to think that I am reliable and probably predictable. But much like bright colorful workhorse yarn I can still surprise with the unexpected.

If you’d like to read more Knit and Crochet Blog posts for Day 1 follow the Google link.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 6KCBWDAY1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 6KCBWDAY1: If You Were Yarn

  1. Hannah says:

    Good choice. So many pretty yarns just won’t last, but a good sturdy sock yarn can be beautiful and also will never let you down 🙂

    Like

  2. “I am strong when I need to be” – that’s a great thought. In all of us is often so much more then we can see from the outside. We all have much more strength then we think, we have…

    Like

  3. as a sock knitter I totally related to your post. lovely job.

    Like

  4. Voie de Vie says:

    Many bloggers feel as you do about qiviut – the poor musk ox is getting a bad rap. 🙂

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Yes, I think you have sock yarn in your DNA!

    Like

  6. Amy Putkonen says:

    I love sock yarn. Good stuff. I have not heard of qiviut. I am a fairly new knitter but also doing the challenge. Fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

