Whole 30: Day 11

My captor says it’s day 11. I spend most of my time in the kitchen or grocery store these days. It is impossible to have enough food on hand to last more than a few days. The other inmates have begun to get cranky to various degrees. It is annoying the  less cranky of us who just want some time to knit. There are some really good things about living this way.

  • There are few decisions to be made. Lettuce, yes, Devil Dogs, no. Steak tips, YES! Swordfish, YES!
  • Homemade mayonnaise is delicious. Sinfully yummy. So smooth and creamy. I am only mildly concerned about the raw egg. Must remember to buy pasteurized eggs on next trip to grocery store.
  • I like being mildly hungry. It is much better than feeling overly stuffed, and guilty.
  • I’m using those rarely used kitchen appliances like the blender and the food processor. I even pulled out my old glass lemon juicer. I use it so much it sits on the counter now.
  • If there is a banana shortage, blame us. We ate 18 last week. I have 16 sitting on the counter right now. Bananas are cheap!

Not everything is wonderful though.

  • I have never washed so many dishes in my life. i.e., want to eat a salad. First you must make mayonnaise, then mix some up into salad dressing, prep all ingredients, put onto plate, eat, enjoy and then wash all those dirty dishes which include not just the plate, fork, knife and cutting board but also blender, lemon juicer, measuring spoons, assorted tablespoons and teaspoons used for tasting along the way. I am trying to make things up ahead but it just goes so quickly with four of us to feed.
  • Grocery shopping takes twice as long. Every label must be read on every item that isn’t meat or veg. Finding a “treat” like almond butter takes reading all the labels to find the one without sugar. Repeat on every item on the list and end up buying less than 1/8 of what is on the list.
  • Grocery shopping is expensive, way expensive than before. Can you say double? And that is without buying all organic. I’d be hitting triple if I did that.
  • No Devil Dogs. No bread.
  • I went to 4 grocery stores last week. Yes, four. I hope next week will be easier since I now know just what to buy where.
  • The most difficult thing is finding things that everyone will eat and keep them full, or fullish. N has taken to eating almond butter on celery regularly after dinner. H scowls a lot.

I have had little time for knitting. I’m tired when I sit down in the evening and end up playing games on my phone. But not Fruit Ninja. I. can’t. cut. up. more. fruit.

Sincerely, Karen*

 

*In all honestly it isn’t that bad. It takes planning and prep which can be time consuming but I have found a fantastic recipe for chili that I will make forever. And we may only eat homemade mayonnaise from now on.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whole 30: Day 11

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    You should give yourself a big pat on the back for sticking with this! You are almost halfway through the 30 days – yea!! I can relate to everything you mentioned – especially the dish washing! Oh, yes, and the endless chopping of vegetables and fruits. I look at it as extra calorie burning – ha! The chili recipe sounds delicious and I look forward to trying it. We’ve taken all our favorite recipes and just added way more vegetables to them – we hardly notice a difference. Keep up the good work!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Kepanie says:

    Great, healthy work going on here. You are a trooper. What amazing results you’ll have by the end of the 30 days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

