WIP Wednesday: And Then There Were Stripes

I am working on my third and final project for the second semester of Loopy Academy. This project must have stripes! And the stripes must be knit with multiple skeins of yarn, not self striping yarn. I knew I’d favorited a pattern on Ravelry that had stripes so I went looking for it when I saw the requirement. Immediately I knew when I saw Laurelhurst by Star Athena it was the perfect pattern! The lace at the top is a nice change from the usual ribbing I put on my socks.

There are two options in the pattern, narrow stripes or wider stripes. I chose to do the wider stripe which is still pretty narrow but looks very different than the narrow stripes. There are slipped stitches down the sides which prevent jogging. As I mentioned the other day, the heel was a bit of a speed bump. Fiddly knitting leaves me frustrated but the beauty of the stripes kept me going. The yarn is The Loopy Ewe solid series in dove and slate blue. Looking back this may not have been the best yarn for these socks since it is 100% super wash merino but if I’m careful they should hold up pretty well. Normally I use a yarn with 25% nylon for durability.

If you’d like to read more posts about projects in process be sure to visit Whatca Workin’ Onย and Stitch Along Wednesday.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WIP Wednesday: And Then There Were Stripes

  1. It is very pretty. I specially love the cuff, its very unique. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Gracey says:

    Those are fantastic! I’ll have to save that pattern…and they are my high school colors ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Very cute! Love the color combo. I’ve never used Loopy Ewe brand yarn. It looks very nice worked up…

    Like

  4. Vivianne says:

    That yarn looks soft. Not sure about the slipped stitch …:)

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Cutest socks EVER! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Paula says:

    Those are great socks! I’ve never seen a pair with the slipped stitch down the sides before.

    Like

  7. iknead2knit says:

    Love those socks!

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    What eye candy this sock is!

    Like

Leave a Reply

