The Things That Get You Through

I cast on another new project last week. I have a complete lack of self control lately. So I’ve been happily knitting along and suddenly I hit a speed bump, the heel. Knitting stripes vertically! It’s so fiddly and I know it’s my own way of knitting that’s making it all the more tedious. Who would think that so few rows of so few stitches would send me over the edge? Must. Keep. Knitting. This tiny little road block sent me on the search for my next project. There is a new baby expected in my extended family and I am going to knit for this baby. But I made a deal with myself. No ordering yarn until the second heel is at hand. I need something to get me through and it’s going to be the promise of ordering new yarn. How do you get through?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Things That Get You Through

  1. Hmm, i know what you mean, sometimes i hit a stumbling block in a pattern and i just can’t get over it. I try and stick at it, sometimes put it down for a day or more and come back to it later. But keeping i guess 🙂

    Like

  2. elpalchica says:

    I don’t usually try to offer myself the prospect of yarn to keep me going. It’s more the prospect of finding a new pattern. However, for some reason after finishing my recent cotton blanket I went out and put two separate orders in at KnitPicks! One because I needed sock yarn for the project the boys wanted but two because I started knitting the sock and then an email came in saying Look, we have purple sock yarn on sale! and I just couldn’t help myself! But now I’m not feeling like knitting anything, even a small boy-sized sock.

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    I’m so fickle. I just tuck it away in the closet and start another project. Bad me! I’m so proud of the people that have the gumption to finish a project that has speed bumps in it!

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    It looks terrific so far.

    Like

  5. I tend to make similar bargains with myself. The reward is either yarn or time to knit on a project I’m really enjoying.

    I like the stripes 🙂

    Like

  6. peonut says:

    That looks fantastic! I love the contrast. Beautiful and really effective.

    How do I get through? Bribery, usually. Or, I just don’t – like some of the other commenters, I start a new project and (usually) come back a little bit later refreshed. I have at least two cases of ‘second sock syndrome’ at my place…

    But I’ve (finally!) convinced myself that a hobby should be relaxing and enjoyable so if I’m not enjoying it, I just move on. No hard feelings toward myself, or the project.

    Like

Leave a Reply

