WIP Wednesday (or whatever it’s called now) Patience Edition

Expect this week me to be really disjointed until I get back into the swing of things. So I may tell the story of the project before I tell you about the yarn that I bought. Let’s pretend this is normal. Let’s pretend I know what I’m doing.

Currently I am working on the projects for my second semester of Loopy Academy. I’ll get into the details of the whole thing tomorrow. Today I’m just going to talk about the slippers I’m knitting for H. The pattern is Fuzzy Feet by Theresa Vinson Stenersen from the Winter 2002 issue of Knitty. The yarn is Cascade 220 in Primaverra and Prune. This is not the first time I’ve knit this pattern. I knit it way back around 2003 or so. This is the first time I’m trying to stripe them. The plan is to just stripe the ankle. Then I’ll knit the heel and instep in primaverra and the toe in prune. I intend to knit the second slipper in the opposite colors. The requirement I am trying to fill for Loopy Academy is a felted project. Have I mentioned I’m not a fan of felting or fulling or whatever you call it? Have I mentioned that my washing machine is limping along and felting may just cause it’s death? I may be felting these in the sink because I need my washer to last a little longer because the car is currently on borrowed time and having to buy both just might send me over the edge.

Confession time: The skippers are not the first felted project I tried. I originally bought the yarn so I could knit a Pentafold Moebius Bowl but I had a terrible time making it work. It was not the fault of the pattern but the fault of poor planning and an overtaxed knitter. I was trying to use a needle that was a bit too short. I don’t really have the mental energy to spare to knit something complex, or something that isn’t a sock really. I just wasn’t patient enough to give it that third or fourth try. My patience are being spent elsewhere for the time being.

Read more posts here

 

Read more posts here

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WIP Wednesday (or whatever it’s called now) Patience Edition

  1. chrisknits says:

    Good to see you back, hoping all is well.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    Intrigued to see how those work out. Felting is still on my list of “omgnothatsscary” techniques :\

    Like

  3. iknead2knit says:

    Glad you’re back!

    Like

  4. Vivianne says:

    Never seen the point of felting something *on purpose*; I do it too many times by accident 😦

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    It’ll be interesting to see the end result.

    Like

  6. gracey says:

    I have some yarn that was gifted from a friend in Norway to make felted slippers….been looking for a good pattern…

    Like

  7. Marilyn says:

    I’ve done several pair of fuzzy feet. I really like your idea of striping them! Hopefully the felting goes smoothly and doesn’t hurt the washer. 🙂

    Like

  8. I’ve never tried deliberately felting something. Looking forward to seeing how it turns out 🙂

    Like

  9. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Love the colors! They will make very cool slippers for H.

    Like

Leave a Reply

