Something New Can Be Good

Last fall I saw a recipe on a blog and I thought that it looked really good and I planned to give it a try. Time got away from me last fall. Finally this weekend I had the time and the ingredients to give it a try. Slab pie is new to me. I knew pie could be made in most any shape but this large flat pie really caught my attention. I love crust way more than filling so this really was right up my alley. Being me of course I changed things a little. Instead of the assortment of spices I used 1 1/2 tsp of apple pie spice and I skipped the glaze entirely. It was really good and I intend to make it again with a couple of changes. First I’m putting more apples. Mine seemed to disappear. Also I’m going to make an additional 1/2 recipe of the crust. I had a very hard time rolling it out to fit the pan and ended up with it being too thin in spots. This made it very difficult to get it up off the counter in one piece. There may have been a lot of loud swearing. I think I’d like to try it with blueberries instead of apples. I highly recommend the recipe. Hmm, maybe I should have another piece.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in baking, food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Something New Can Be Good

  1. Marilyn says:

    Looks and sounds good!
    Have another piece…then I’ll feel better about the cookies I ate this morning. o.0

    Like

  2. Kepanie says:

    This looks good. I like how one can see the crust is flaky. The apple filling peeking out is fun and enticing to the eye.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Your crust looks perfect! YUMMMMM!

    Like

  4. ellen says:

    Mmm slab pie. Still haven’t made it myself, but yours looks tasty. goodness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

