WIP Wednesday: Is It The Process Or The Product That Keeps You Knitting?

I have finished the first of my Hailstones socks and cast on the second one. I was so excited as I knit the toe of that first sock. I knew I’d be casting on the second one as soon as I was done and I was anxious to do it. Now most people would think that makes me a process knitter since the product, a completed sock wasn’t the real thrill. Starting that new sock wasn’t that thrilling either. I was pleased to be starting the second sock of the pair. But what I am more excited about is what will I start next? I don’t care that I’ll have a completed pair of socks. I am excited at the prospect of an empty set of needles. The opportunity to pick out which yarn I’ll cast on next. I can’t wait to look through ravelry and decide on a new project. So if I’m not a product knitter and I’m not a process knitter, what kind of knitter am I?

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts visit Stitch Along Wednesday.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, SAW, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Is It The Process Or The Product That Keeps You Knitting?

  1. Marilyn says:

    You are an excited-to-try-the-next-thing knitter! 😉

    Like

  2. chrisknits says:

    You’re a starter? But then you’re also a finisher? So you can’t be both. I guess you’re just a knitter.

    Like

  3. For me, it’s the satisfaction of having finished products. I LOVE getting to wear the things I’ve knit. I absolutely enjoy the process, but I’m always looking towards the end-game.

    Like

  4. Vivianne says:

    LOL I got distracted, I need to take my lenses out – I read your handwritten note there as ‘1 stinking needle” LMAO not ’11 stitches/needle’

    Like

  5. Gracey says:

    I love wearing the finished product….I’m not a fast knitter, so when aching for something new, I’ll turn to crochet….much faster for me…

    Like

  6. Renee Anne says:

    Given that I don’t have a lot of time to knit (four year old and two month old at home), I’d say I’m more of a process knitter…but don’t take that to mean that I don’t enjoy having the FO at the end because I totally do 🙂

    Like

  7. For me it is a bit of both, as I love to see the pattern unfolds, and always love to see end end product. 🙂

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    That looks like a semi complicated project with you having to keep track of things like that.

    Like

  9. Interesting thoughts, I’m never sure what sort of knitter I am either. I enjoy knitting but I won’t knit just for the sake of it, I want an FO that I will actually use and enjoy. Startitis is fun though, I’m itching to get something new on my needles, probably because my projects feel like they’re taking forever as I’m not really working on them much 😦

    Like

  10. tinaor says:

    I am definitely a process knitter. Knitting keeps me sane and the amount of UFOs or WIPS I have prove that maybe it’s the finishing that I struggle with …

    Like

  11. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I think you are a “productive” knitter. For you, it’s mostly about the feeling of tackling something and completing it and moving on to the next thing that needs to be tackled and completed. Because, really, how many things in life work out that way??? Very few. That’s why we need knitting, for many reasons! 🙂

    Like

  12. ellen says:

    I think you just like to knit! Or maybe as the comment above says, a “productive” knitter. How you feel is very similar to the way I feel about knitting right now. I’m not super interested in turning out something to specifically wear or give (even though I’ve got 2 WIPS for these purposes somewhere) and at the moment I’m not really that interested in new techniques. I just want to like what I knit, and then I wanna finish it within a reasonable amount of time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

