Yet Another Reason I Love The Internet

I love my Le Creuset dutch oven. I use it nearly every week. I’ve made many things in it but my favorite is soup or stew. What you see above is beef stew that is on the stove as I write this. The week before last I made a recipe I’d seen on Cook’s Country: Milk Can Supper. Here is a variation. I followed the recipe as given on TV which included a bottle of beer and no chicken broth. When I thought it was done I served dinner and everyone said it needed to cook a little longer. Well I turned the stove back on to cook the leftovers a bit longer. Well all the liquid boiled away, I really thought there was more in the dutch oven than there was so I let it go a good 30 minutes. The inside of my favorite dutch oven was blackened, bad. Really bad. I removed all the food and thought for sure my dutch oven was a goner. I tried scrubbing it with Dawn. I then left it to soak while I searched the internet. I knew I wasn’t the first person to do this. And I was right! I found directions for boiling hydrogen peroxide and baking soda for about 10 minutes until a chemical reaction occurred. The baking soda bubbled up and after doing this twice I was able to get the stuck on burned stuff off the inside of my dutch oven and the inside looked exactly like the day I bought it. So thank you internet for sharing your mishaps and fixes. I do reserve the right to hate you later though.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yet Another Reason I Love The Internet

  1. Snap! I bought two of those exact same ones, one for me and one for my daughter. We love them, and I always use mine for a good chicken stew. 🙂

    Like

  2. Den says:

    One is on my wishlist. 🙂 So glad you were able to get it cleaned up!

    Like

  3. elpalchica says:

    I don’t suppose you could tell me where to buy hydrogen peroxide??

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    Soup is so comforting to have nowadays. I always eye Le Creuset bakeware. One day l treat myself to one. I need to clean my oven too.

    Like

  5. Marilyn says:

    Very valuable information! Glad you were able to save your pot. 🙂

    Like

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I can relate to your love/hate relationship with the internet! 🙂 That’s so cool that you found a way to clean your dutch oven – yay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

