WIP Wednesday: Must-Knit-Faster

Or I will not have this pair done by the end of the month. I always thought knee socks were just long regular socks. They aren’t. They are like knitting two pair of socks! I knit for hours and then try them on and I have only got another inch done. The pattern is Little Cable Knee Highs by Purl Soho. The yarn is Sweet Georgia tough love sock in Riptide. The socks are my second Camp Loopy project which is to be knit during the month of July. So far the alterations I have made to the pattern are working out. I am knitting these on 64sts for the main part of the foot and ankle. I am following the prescribed increases for the calf and will adjust the stitch count as needed for the ribbing. As of right now I’m very happy with everything about this sock, except maybe the speed with which I am knitting it. That said, I better get back to it.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, camploopy2014, knits, knitting, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Must-Knit-Faster

  1. Michelle says:

    I’ve always assumed the same about knee high socks. I have hopes to knit a couple pairs in time to wear them for fall. Based on this assessment, I should get started! πŸ˜€ I hope that you make quick progress on these in order to complete them in time for your goal!

    Like

  2. Hope you get the time to finish them soon πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    They’re looking super! Hope you escape the black hole of no advancement quickly! Be careful. The end sometimes sneaks up on you. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Michelle says:

    Ugh. Since the one and only pair of socks I knitted took a whole month and were only a couple of inches above the ankle, I’ll be giving knee-highs a miss…

    You have much more patience than me!

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    That is a true observation. Ok. I always entertained the bottom of knitting some knew highs but I think I’ll forgo.

    Like

  6. ellen says:

    Dang lady, what you’ve accomplished in one week is more than I can do in a month.

    I know you wish you were farther along, but the knee high looks great! Great sock yarn, too.

    Like

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I have complete confidence that you will be finished with both socks before the end of the month! πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Pat says:

    Blasting away she knits and leaps tall buildings in one go!

    I have a lovely pattern for knee highs as well – and the sheer volume of knitting – it’s the calf up bit – is a bit daunting! But I’m with you in spirit! Knit knit knit —- rah rah rah!

    I’m sure you’ll be able to get these done —- it’s only July 10th — yeah, time flies, eh — but they look gorgeous and I’m sure you’ll be so pleased with them when they are done!

    * as she bows down to the sock knitting Goddess Karen *

    Like

  9. muttikins says:

    Yeah, what is it with hand knitting and going slow? That shirt of mine is still sitting in the corner not knitting itself. And I need to knit a pair of kilt hose for my hubby and I’m both dreading it and masochistically looking forward to it.

    Like

  10. chrisknits says:

    You can do it! That was how it was with my mittens. Since they are lined I basically knit 4 mitts. And the liners were boring St st in the round, no fun color work like the outside of the mitts. Makes for very boring knitting. Your knee socks will be gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

