FO Friday: Surfing

I am so pleased to say that I have completed my first Camp Loopy project! The pattern is Stitch Surfer by Louise Robert. The yarn is Biscotte & Cie in Paturage purchased as a kit from The Loopy Ewe. I totally enjoyed knitting these socks BUT I have to give credit to Diane of the Knitabulls podcast. She has made a fantastic 3-part video tutorial walking, well, knitting,  through the pattern that has many tips that she figured out knitting this pattern a dozen times! I found the tutorial so helpful. Not only was I able to knit socks that I love but she demystified magic loop and knitting socks from the toe up. I found her choice of the Turkish cast on to be perfect for the pattern and for me to use for other toe up socks. I feel like I can give toe up patterns a more serious look now that I have knit these. In the past I avoided toe up patterns unless I could flip them to cuff down. Thank you Diane for being so generous with your time and sharing your knitting knowledge. I highly recommend this pattern and the tutorial for anyone looking for a fun pattern that isn’t nearly as difficult as it looks.

If you’d like to read more FO Friday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, camploopy2014, FOF, knits, knitting, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FO Friday: Surfing

  1. Marilyn says:

    They are SO Cool! Excellent!

    Like

  2. Pat says:

    Wow Karen – these are super cool. Totally awesome.

    It’s amazing that you found tutorials and learned some great new techniques too — what an added bonus for future sock projects.

    Congrats and well done.

    It’s encouraging to know these socks turned out so well – they look difficult, but that the knit through with the tutorials etc. made the world of difference. Quite the accomplishment – and I love the color combination and wave.

    You rock! 🙂

    Like

  3. Janet says:

    I LOVE your socks!

    Like

  4. ellen says:

    You did an amazing job. They look fantastic and so unique! I have never seen anything hand made or machine knit like that in the sock world!

    Like

  5. What a cool pattern! Love your color choices!

    Like

  6. Verónica says:

    Those socks are so cool!

    Like

Leave a Reply

