WIP Wednesday: Camp Edition

I have chucked aside all the other projects I was working on to concentrate on my Camp Loopy socks. The pattern is Stitch Surfer by Louise Robert. The yarn is a Biscotte & Cie stitch surfer kit in Paturage.  I have been using the most fantastic tutorial by Diane of the Knitabulls podcast to knit my socks. Her instruction is clear and easy to understand. Her enthusiasm for this pattern is infectious! I am even knitting these Magic Loopy because I found her explanation of that so clear and doable. There are a few things I would do differently when I knit this sock again. First I would go down a needle size. I am using size 1 32 inch Addi Turbo needles. I find myself really pulling hard to tighten things up with this size needle. A zero would be better. I think if I went to a size zero needle I would go up a size in the pattern. I am currently working on 64 sts which is my normal sock size but I think with the zero needle I would do 68 sts. Of course these are just guesses because I am barely into the foot at this point and I’d like to see how the rest fits before I make any concrete commitments.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, camploopy2014, Guilty Pleasures, knits, knitting, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Camp Edition

  1. Patricia says:

    I’m glad you’ve found helpful instructions to guide you along the way — as you’ve said – you can never know until it’s done – but here’s hoping that it will turn out super and you’ll be pleased! 🙂

    Like

  2. Those are really cool I just might have to check that pattern out.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Wow! Wow! Wow! Looking good!!

    Like

  4. Marilyn says:

    Look at you go!! How fun is that pattern….almost makes me think about knitting a pair of socks! 😉

    Like

  5. Helen says:

    Are you really camping or is it virtual? If “really” I couldn’t figure out how it worked so well into your daily routine … if virtual (duh Helen). 🙂

    Like

  6. ellen says:

    Wow you always find the most interesting ways to do socks! I love reading about your sock knitting adventures. I’m beginning to understand the sock construction a little better in general now. Good luck with your project, looking forward to seeing it grow.

    Like

  7. Lucy Bowen says:

    They are gorgeous – will have to try that pattern and tutorial.

    Like

  8. Hehehe I normally do 64 stitches on size 0 needles, I’m a loose sock knitter lol. Your socks look so cool

    Like

  9. Janet says:

    I love the way your sock is looking. That’s such an interesting pattern.

    Like

Leave a Reply

