5KCBWDAY7: Looking Back, Looking Forward

Day Seven (Sunday 18th May): Looking Back, Looking Forward
If you took part in last year’s Knitting & Crochet Blog Week, look back on your Day Seven post. Did any of the techniques, ideas and hopes for the last 12 months that you wrote about at that time ever make it onto the hook or needles? Did anyone cast on and complete the project researched in last year’s Day 2 post?

And there is also time to look forward again: One year from now, when the 6th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried? Do you have any wishes for your blogging that you’d like to follow?

When looking back at my post for Day 7 last year I see some success and some failure. I still have not found a balance. I either have a clean house or knitting to show, never both. I am still not good at managing my time. There are many lost minutes everyday that I haven’t managed to capture. I have not completed any of the many UFOs I have tucked away.

I did complete Celestarium which I had planned to knit. I even entered it in the local fair and got a blue ribbon.  The other project I had hoped to knit was Topeka. I did knit it but I haven’t worn it as much as I thought I would. My plan to knit a lifetime supply of socks continues. I knit 8 pair and have another on the needles with plans for more, always more.

As I look to the future I hope to be blogging next year when Knit and Crochet Blog Week 6 rolls around. Hopefully I have made my posts at regular intervals documenting my knitting and my life. I hope to have found new blogs to follow and made new knitter friends. I want the connections I have to my current knitter friends to continue and grow. In the past year I discovered The Loopy Ewe Challenges and I plan to continue with those also. I’d like to enter another knit at the fair. My knitting future looks bright. I am open to new techniques and completing UFOs. I am open to new patterns and past favorites. I am open to buying new yarn and using what is in stash. I am open to it all.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 5KCBWDAY7, blogging, knits, knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5KCBWDAY7: Looking Back, Looking Forward

  1. Kepanie says:

    Yay on winning a blue ribbon for that gorgeous shawl!

    Like

  2. lottieknits says:

    I struggle to find a knit/life balance too, especially as knitting is my job as well. I’m not sure it’s possible to get it right. Your Celestarium is really beautiful, I love the beads and especially the edging 🙂

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    If you find the way to having a clean house and getting lots of knitting done at the same time, please, PLEASE, let me know!! 😉

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    What a nice way to sum it all up! You’ve accomplished many, many knitting goals this past year that you can be very proud of – I’ve enjoyed seeing them all come to life and can’t wait to see what you create in the coming year. I think you are balancing life very well – at least you have a clean house sometimes (unlike me – ha!). I’ve enjoyed this annual blog week – thanks for keeping it interesting!

    Like

  5. avantaknits says:

    Oh, entering a project at the fair! I want to do that. Good luck to you!
    And I’ve enjoyed your posts this past week.

    Like

  6. caityrosey says:

    I’m rather glad I didn’t actually commit to a project in last year’s Blog Week. Because it wouldn’t have happened. Setting goals, for me, seems to be a good way of ensuring I do something else entirely.

    Like

  7. bylalaknits says:

    Beautiful shawl! I have goals but with too little ones their needs sometimes out weigh my goals. But I keep trying and sometimes have a clean house too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

