5KCBWDAY1: A Day In The Life

Day One (Monday 12th May): A Day In The Life.
Describe a day in the life of a project that you have made, or are in the process of making.

You can choose to handle this topic in a number of different ways, but a few points to consider might be the following:

First-person or third-person account? Will you write from the point of view of the garment/finished object, or as a wearer or observer?
Finished project or WIP? Will this be an account of the creative process and what the object goes through, or it’s ‘life’ after creation?
Fact or fiction? Will your account describe the wear and tear, love and compliments all experienced by a crocheted hat on a rainy day, or will you write the fantastical account of what a knitted trilobite gets up to on its adventures once the door is shut and nobody is looking?

Sorry the photo is so bad. It’s a photo of a photo.

Hello. I am a simple white baby sweater with a hood and a zipper that zips down the back. I am knit with soft acrylic yarn in a pattern my maker received from her mother. I was knit over a dozen years ago. Back when I was just yarn my maker had a plan, a big giant hope for the future type plan and I was to play a small part. I was knit for a recipient who was not yet born, not yet conceived but already wanted and planned for, though maybe not by all those involved. Once I had been lovingly knit and my zipper installed by my maker’s mother I was placed in a plastic bag. Time passed, I don’t remember how long, months or maybe a year. At that point I was packed into a little box along with a few other items and I was sent on a long journey. My journey was rough. I traveled over land and air and seas. When I finally reached the address on the label and the box opened I and the other items were passed on to special woman, a woman whose job it was to care for a little baby. She looked into the box and found among the other items me, a simple plain white sweater. She placed me, a little tiny sweater, on the baby telling him that this was from his Mom, Dad and sister in America and he would one day soon fly in a plane to them. Every time she put this sweater on him she said “Here is a hug from your Mom, Dad and sister who can’t wait to meet you and hug you in person.” One day, after being worn quite a bit I no longer fit the baby so I was placed back into the plastic bag. Eventually I was put into another bigger bag. This bag and the baby were placed into the arms of another kind lady. She took the baby, who was no longer tiny, on a giant shiny airplane where they flew for hours and hours. After a long time we arrived at Logan Airport. The family was so happy to meet their baby and hug him in person. My maker was given the big bag containing me and a few other items. A lot of time has passed since that day. The baby is no longer a baby. Now and then my maker will brush her hand across my bag when hanging clothes in the boys closet. She’ll take the bag out of the closet and remember I am the first bit of love she could give to her baby.*

*Parts of this story are true, parts are a knitters hope.

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 5KCBWDAY1, knits, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 5KCBWDAY1: A Day In The Life

  1. bekswhoknits says:

    awwwe. that is a really sweet story.

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    So sweet 🙂

    Like

  3. Cathy says:

    Such a moving story !

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Beautiful sweater…beautiful story….beautiful baby.

    Like

  5. caityrosey says:

    That was a lovely story. I hope the sweater goes on to warm more little ones.

    Like

  6. ellen says:

    Very sweet, the journeys of a well loved baby sweater 🙂

    Like

  7. Patricia says:

    I can bet I know which parts are true – but since you’re remaining quiet – I’ll let it be as such. Great story – and lovely journey for one and all yes?

    Like

Leave a Reply

