A List

The new schedule is very difficult to get used to. There are things I like about it and things I really hate.

  • I hate that The Husband gets home at 8PM. There is no way I’m holding dinner until that time so we eat in two shifts. I hate that too. Getting in at 8 means that The Husband spends only a few minutes with N in the evenings. This is starting to show or maybe it’s just puberty that’s making him cranky.
  • Having The Husband here in the morning is nice. I have lazed in bed a couple of times and let him drive H to work. One day he even took N to school and I didn’t get dressed until 9!
  • I’m not getting enough sleep. The Husband stays up later than he used to because he needs time to relax and unwind. I have to get up at 6 most mornings and having the TV on until 11 or 12 or later interrupts my sleep.
  • Because my father can no longer be left alone it is difficult for my mother to get out. We have been having H or The Husband stay with my father when my mother wants to go to the grocery store, pharmacy or bank. This involves some early morning trips to the grocery store which I kind of like. There are fewer people shopping, parking is easier and there seems to be fewer things that are out of stock. Of course I did find the woman sipping her coffee while browsing at the yogurt annoying.
  • I’m finding it difficult to squeeze in blogging. My habit has always been to blog in the morning either between dropping H and N off  or right after I drop N off. Those times are unpredictable now so I’m floundering. I also feel like my life is boring, not that it was exciting before but at least then I had time to bake or find something fun/interesting on the internet to talk about. I haven’t even read a blog in days.
  • Look peas!
  • I’m trying to find pleasure in the little things. Today I cleaned the bathrooms and vacuumed the floors. Now I just have the rest of the house to clean.
About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in blogging, garden, Guilty Pleasures, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A List

  1. Kepanie says:

    Didn’t know pea plants look like that. Actually didn’t know how they grew. I’m sure you’ll find your new rhythm after awhile. My husband gets in at 8 or half past. He leaves at 6 or earlier. So I know how you feel. I have to lay down to relax before nine. Going to bed at nine…I feel it the next morning.

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    Changing schedule can definitely throw everything out of balance. But, I also like to know that I’m still adaptable and able to adjust when I need to, so I like to shake things up a little. 😀

    Like

  3. chrisknits says:

    Hope you are able to find ways to counteract your list. I will never complain about Hubster getting home at 6:30 again!

    Like

  4. You have my sympathy. My husband has just started the slide into retirement and has dropped to four working days in his week. Sadly I don’t feel I can work as well when he is at home – everything feels out of kilter – so I know how your tilted day must be feeling. Hopefully we will both adapt soon.

    Like

  5. elpalchica says:

    I love shopping in the mornings with the boys. It’s quieter so I can manage them better and get through things faster. Plus if you’re lucky you get the reduced produce and meat that they want to sell quickly.

    Like

  6. Marilyn says:

    They say change is good but sometimes I think it’s just annoying. Hope everyone adjusts to the new schedule.
    xoxo

    Like

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That must be really hard to get used to a new schedule – is this the “new normal” or is it temporary? You’ve really got two “shifts” going on at your house and you are bouncing around between the two of them. Hope you can find some happy medium soon.

    Like

  8. ellen says:

    Timing. I don’t even know what to say. I feel like every morning, evening day, I’m battling with it. I try to manage it, manage my expectation of mine and others. I hope it evens out for you a bit soon. Wishing you a little more sleep 🙂

    Like

  9. Patricia says:

    When schedules become this disrupted and with so many significant changes happening all at once, it’s really hard to re-adjust. Take it one step at a time – and try to find small compromises – like ask Hubby to turn the volume down a bit. At least know that you’re not alone – I suspect everyone in the family is sharing the upheaval – so hang in there – you’ll be able to find a workable and pleasurable new routine that will give you some breathing room. As for the “needs to be done like yesterday crap” i.e. housework – just tackle a bit a day. It’s all going to get dirty again, so one step or room at a time. I’ve found this is much saner approach to it all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

