WIP Wednesday: New Normal

Sorry to have disappeared again. I guess the new normal is I may or may not be here. Things change so quickly that I hardly know if I’m coming or going half the time. Last Friday I took my father to the doctor for what should have been a quick 15 minute visit but turned into a 24 hour stay in the hospital. His heart rate was up and they were concerned. It was 178 when it is unusually 90 so concerned is a bit of an understatement. They were freaking out just a little. He was checked into the cardiac unit and given some medication to bring it down. After 24 hours he was feeling better and sent home. He seems OK now and so far his heart rate is normal. We go to the cardiologist next week for what I hope is a simple visit.

I have been working on some new socks. The pattern is the usual one I keep in my head over 64 sts. The yarn is Regia Aquarius Color in 4916 that N gave me for Christmas. Sorry the photo is crap. I am still using my phone. I bought batteries but now I need one of those little round button batteries for the camera too. That camera is also crap and will be replaced eventually. Anyway, I am using my favorite needles and probably should have gone up a size or two. These socks may be bullet-proof, or at the least really warm.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WIP Wednesday: New Normal

  1. Marilyn says:

    I hope things stay ok for your father. I’m so glad you have sock knitting to help you survive the stress!

    Like

  2. Hope your father gets on alright. Sock knitting sounds like just the right thing to help

    Like

  3. Den says:

    I hope the next appointment for your father goes well. How scary!

    The socks are lovely. My LYS carries some Regia, but that’s not a colorway I think she has. I’ll have to makle sad eyes at her and see if we can remedy that. It’s beautiful!

    Like

  4. Vivianne says:

    Hey, hope your dad is OK; it;s such a worry when they are ill. Make sure you’ve got a little WIP always in a bag ready to go xx

    Like

  5. elpalchica says:

    Pop over. I have some little round button batteries that might be what you’re looking for.

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    Sorry to read about your dad. But glad he is better now and home. I like the mix of blues in your sock.

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    Lovely socks! Sorry you find yourself on and off, but it happens. Life takes priority over the internet 😉

    Like

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I love the soothing colors of your sock – just what you need right now.

    Like

  9. chrisknits says:

    Praying that life will slow down for you, or that your new normal is livable. That’s what happened with my dad, 73, at Thanksgiving. No explanation for why, just “these things happen with age”.

    Like

  10. Cookie says:

    Oh, sweetie, I’m sorry about the father excitement. I’m glad he’s home and feeling better. I hope it stays that way for a long time. Loving that sock! I think it’s the colour.

    Like

  11. Patricia says:

    I hope that your new normal becomes less stressful and that all will stabilize with your father. There is nothing quite as upsetting as sudden unwanted health issues.

    The socks look great – and I hope that you find some solace and comfort from the knitting time you squeak in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

