FO Friday: Is It Really Friday?

This week has been long and it just won’t end. My father is back in the hospital though we have been promised a transfer to a rehab facility yesterday or maybe today or tomorrow. Also there is so much coughing and mucus going on around here. Wash your hands when you’re done reading this just in case. The Husband took a couple of days off from work to get a few things done and he has done nothing but cough and blow his nose, then N started and so did H. I am hanging on just this side of healthy with the threat of illness at any moment. Fortunately there has been knitting.

I finished the Alternate Steps socks just last night. They are for the second quarter Loopy’s Challenge. The yarn is Another Crafty Girl strong sock in little green aliens. First let me say I loved knitting this pattern. It is the kind of pattern that pulls you though row by row, repeat by repeat. They are fairly easy, maybe not first socks easy but first patterned sock easy for sure. I did only one thing differently than the pattern. I knit my socks on 4 needles using the 5th needle to knit. The pattern calls for using 3 needles and knitting with the 4th. I prefer the balance of knitting on 4. This did require that I rearranged my stitches a few times to keep things where they belonged. The yarn is lovely. It’s one of the first I’ve purchased without fondling in person that was even better than I expected. I will be buying more in the future.

If you’d like to read more FO Friday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FOF, knits, knitting, Loopy's Challenge, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to FO Friday: Is It Really Friday?

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sorry to hear your dad isn’t well.
    The same disease must be all over the country…I’ve been sneezing, blowing and coughing for a week now. You also need to wash your hands after reading my comment! šŸ˜‰
    The socks are wonderful!

    Like

  2. chrisknits says:

    Sorry the Dad saga continues. Prayers for healing. Love the socks!!! Hope you all get healthy!

    Like

  3. Michelle says:

    The socks look wonderful. I love a simple repeating pattern. It makes for knitting that is both mindless and interesting. šŸ˜€

    Like

  4. I love the socks. Beautiful color and pattern.

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    This head bug is really making its round all over. Sorry it has invaded your household. I hope it stays as a simple cold and you and the ohana won’t have to suffer like some of us did.
    Sorry to read about your dad. It must be so stressful for you. Being elderly can be so rough. Your dad seems like a fighter. I hope he’s not in a lot of pain.

    Like

  6. Pat(ricia) says:

    So sorry Karen that the family health issues – with your Dad and your hubby and kids are still lingering. Try to stay healthy and well – keep the vitamin C flowing – and yeah, sneak in some knitting time when you can – those finished socks look delicious šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Hope your dad is settled in at the rehab by now. Sounds like you’ve had a rough week. Good thing you had your socks to work on for a little “you” time. They turned out amazing! Hope your dad will feel better soon and that everyone in your house will shake that nasty cough. Hang in there!

    Like

  8. Sorry to hear of your family health problems – I hope things improve soon.
    The socks are lovely! I really must try that pattern when I finally get to the end of the pair I am making.

    Like

  9. ellen says:

    I’m sorry your Dad is in the hospital and you are living in a world of snot. I think the socks are delightful. I loved your description of the pattern and working on them. I learned my first two pair of socks using 3 needles and am currently working with 4. It’s taking a little adjusting. I feel like I poke myself more with 4, if that makes any sense, but I don’t have a preference as I’m so new to sock knitting. Happy Knitting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

