Down In The Dumps Movie Viewing

Things have been trying here lately. Stress levels have been off the chart. I’m taking on more each day than the day before and I’m having trouble keeping up. Thinking about what I have to do sets my mind racing and my heart pounding. I know I’ve mentioned my father not being well. Over the past year or so I have taken on many responsibilities that he used to handle and this includes overseeing my uncle. I feel stretched much of the time.

When I find myself feeling overwhelmed I schedule myself a special movie night. I have rules for these nights. The movie has to be a “feel good” story. It is always something I have watched before and usually something I like so much I have the DVD. Last night I watched “Notting Hill”. There is no better feel good love story. I love the quirky cast of characters. I love that things work out in the end. After a couple of hours away from real life I feel refreshed and ready to tackle whatever my day brings. How do you escape everyday stress? What are your guilty pleasure feel good movies?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, movies. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Down In The Dumps Movie Viewing

  1. soknitsome says:

    You chose the perfect film! Hope things improve soon.

    Like

  2. You can’t beat a Richard Curtis film although personally I prefer Love Actually.

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    Notting Hill is also my #1 favorite but I also like Sweet Home Alabama.
    I hope your stress levels go down soon. I’ll say prayers for everyone in your family.

    Like

  4. “Murder, She Wrote” is my guilty pleasure, feel-better viewing of choice. I don’t know if it’s the cosy setting, the fact that the bad guy ALWAYS gets caught or the hilarious 80s costumes, but it always makes me smile. Hope things pick up for you soon…

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    One of my favorites is Last Stop Wonderland and I’ll never get tired of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (oompa loompa oompity doo….). Hope things will settle down for you soon.

    Like

  6. Janet says:

    I never get tired of Notting Hill. I hope things even out for you soon.

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    Take care of yourself.

    Like

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oops – it’s called Next Stop Wonderland – sorry about that!

    Like

  9. Pat(ricia) says:

    I hope you manage to find some serious “you” time – and that you find ways to make “feel good” moments – Notting Hill is delightful. Personally, I don’t have a particular fave – anything that is a “tried & true” comedy works – so just try to roll with it as best you can – things will settle themselves sooner than you think.
    Btw …. I think you sent me an email – recently – and my Yahoo account did something terribly weird with it – so I can’t find the damn thing now. Just to let you know – in case you were wondering.

    Like

  10. Take care, hope it gets better soon. Hugs. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

