It’s Not You, It’s Me

So I decided to look for a new sock pattern last week. I looked at a lot of patterns and decided on this one. I picked out some yarn that was nearby and cast on. No I didn’t really read though the pattern. No I didn’t really think much about it. I did the cute little twisted thing at the top of the ribbing. It looked OK though I wasn’t really sure what to do when I joined in the round. I didn’t have a little twist there and there probably should have been one. I was undaunted and just carried on down the ribbing and into the leg all the while pushing back that feeling. You know that feeling, the one you get when you go on a date with a guy you hardly know. He looks really nice and you know you have things in common but then you spend a few hours (weeks, months, dear God years) with him and you realize he isn’t the right guy for you. There just isn’t that chemistry. Maybe he isn’t what you need at the time. Maybe he’s gay. Whatever. You move on and even though he’s perfectly fine for someone else he wasn’t right for you at that moment. Yes, that’s how I felt about this sock before I ripped it out.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, Quirky Knitter, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Not You, It’s Me

  1. Marilyn says:

    I think you might have done the right thing. It doesn’t really look like you. There’s a better sock pattern out there for this yarn!

    Like

  2. elpalchica says:

    There’s a better yarn out there for this sock pattern too!

    Like

  3. Michelle says:

    What is the knitting equivalent to “there are many fish in the sea”? 😀

    Like

  4. chrisknits says:

    We are not going into a knitting funk here, do you hear me! You are going to go to your stash. You are going to grab something familiar and lovely and you are going to cast on a plain vanilla sock!! Right now! Just do it before the knitting jinkies strike again. You’re welcome for this impromptu pep talk.

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh, that’s too bad – but at least you realized it before you committed to the second one…..

    Like

  6. Kepanie says:

    Thou tried. No ifs, ands, or buts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

