FO Friday = Failed Object

Disclaimer: There is nothing wrong with this pattern. There is nothing wrong with this yarn. Both are quite delightful. There is everything wrong with the way this knitter handled this project.

So yes, I have admitted to being a loser in that paragraph up there. My small crescent shaped shawl/scarf is done and it is a failure. It is only a failure in the it will never be worn sense. It was a complete winner as far as knitting it is concerned. I enjoyed knitting the pattern. The yarn is fine. I knew I was likely to be disappointed. I really did just wing this with a couple of balls of yarn and the need to knit anything except what I already had on the needles. The entire problem is that the piece ended up too small for my liking. I ended up with more yarn left over than I should have, you know, had I actually planned what I was doing. I will knit this again. I will do it when I have more than two smallish balls of yarn. I will use this yarn for something else. Probably a hat since there would be more than enough yarn for that.

Don’t worry about me. I have moved on to something else. I love finding something new to cast on. I have enough yarn for this project to turn out the way I want. I picked a lovely yarn from the stash. We’ll all have to wait and see how it works out though.

If you’d like to read about more FO Friday projects particularly those that are winners be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FOF, knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to FO Friday = Failed Object

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sorry about it being small. I made a shawl that was too small too. And I actually had another ball of yarn that could have been used to make it bigger. The poor shawl isn’t even blocked. I’m totally ignoring it.

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Maybe see what happens when you block it (??). You could make some matching fingerless gloves with what you have left (??). Well, it sounds like you’ve moved on. At least this project gave you some nice knitting when you needed it most.

    Like

  3. Winnie says:

    I made a poncho one time and just didn’t like the draping and frogged it. I still have that yarn in my stash that I am slowly using on smaller projects. I hate that it was too small because the color is gorgeous and it is a lovely pattern.

    Like

  4. Renee Anne says:

    I hate when things wind up being failures even though we don’t want them to be!

    Like

  5. Aw boo 😦 I take it blocking it really hard won’t help?

    Like

  6. I made a shawl once that turned out too small…I gave it to a friend who teaches small children so she could use it as a dressup item for her class…they loved it 🙂

    Like

  7. Aw, sorry about that. I hate it when a project fails to live up to expectations, but I rarely take it to FO stage then!

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    How was your gauge? Oh well, if you’re not feelin’ it you’re not feelin’ it. You’ll be happier using this yarn for something else.

    Like

  9. chrisknits says:

    I was afraid my recent FO would be a fud, but I am wearing it as I type, so it was saved from ripping. Now to focus on the things I should have been knitting while I knit this shawl!

    Like

  10. Vivianne says:

    Frog it and make a lace shawl, the yarn goes further that way 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

