What Do You Do?

I’m in denial. Well, not really I suppose. I am talking about it. The Sparrow Fingerless Gloves have hit a bump in the road. It’s probably not entirely the fault of the pattern but I have small hands. The hands of the gloves are too big. Not huge but big enough that I will end up not wearing them. I’ve got a plan to remedy the situation but it involves ripping out stitches and backward progress isn’t in the cards right now. So I have been trying to come up with something else to knit. Something that isn’t a big commitment or a big thinking project. My knitting brain power is at an all-time low right now. So I happened on this recipe for a shawlette that will work with some yarn I’ve had sitting around for a bit. The yarn is Classic Elite Chesapeake that I bought at Hub Mills marked down since it had no tag. The color is a charcoal gray. I haven’t completely worked out in my head what I’m going to do but I have two balls so I’ll knit one and worry about the details later. So what do you do when things go awry?

In family news, my father came home from the hospital Saturday. He seems OK though is still pretty shaky and not quite right.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What Do You Do?

  1. Marilyn says:

    After a sizing problem, knitting something that has no size requirements sounds like a good plan to me!
    Glad to hear your dad is better. Hope he continues to improve.
    xoxo

    Like

  2. Kepanie says:

    Glad your dad’s home. Hope he recovers smoothly further and comfortably in his own bed.
    I like that yarn. Its thickness is a beckoning of cozy warmth. I like that new pattern you have found. I think I have that marked.

    Like

  3. Michelle says:

    I’m so glad to have company in this category. I am constantly running into hiccups, and I always default to casting on a new project when I run into a snag. HAHA. It’s definitely not a solution, but it makes me feel better for a little while.

    Like

  4. chrisknits says:

    Good luck to your knitting mojo!!! I just ripped back on a shawl, but more because I want to get it right.

    Like

  5. Janet says:

    Glad to hear that your dad is home. When things don’t work out the way I hope, they go in time-out for a bit. My rule is that when I pick it back up I have to fix, finish or frog. Sometimes I follow that rule. 🙂

    Like

  6. Bake bread. The kneading works out all of the angst and you get a great result.Don’t fret about the gloves – at least they weren’t finished and doomed to living in a drawer.
    I am glad your dad is home and hope he is feeling much better.

    Like

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I do the same thing (start something new and easier) when I hit a snag and don’t have time or don’t want to figure out a solution at that moment. The important thing is to keep knitting on something, right?! I have complete confidence that you will tackle the fingerless gloves when the time is right. Now carry on knitting….

    Like

Leave a Reply

