Weekend Fun

Friday was Korean (Chinese) New Year so on Saturday when we attended N’s monthly cultural group they celebrated the holiday with some traditional Korean soup and activities. We learned the correct way to bow. As part of this they were able to bring a bunch of hanboks from the Korean Consulate to teach the kids about traditional clothing. I asked N if he would like to try on a hanbok and of course he said no but once a couple of the college guys grabbed him and didn’t give him a choice he was game.

I think he’s glad he went along with the guys.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in kids. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend Fun

  1. maeussle says:

    That’s neat! So important to keep customs going for all generations. Sounds like everybody had fun 😉

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    What fun! He looks like he enjoyed the clothes after all. 🙂

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I learned a lot – thanks for sharing! And it looks like N had a great time. I don’t think I could handle the bowing part, though (getting down on my knees – not a pretty sight -ha!).

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    Hanboks can be such a work of art. I have pics of my youngest in hers on the wall. It’s very cool how you keep up cultural traditions for your son.

    Like

Leave a Reply

