FO Friday: Finally Done!

I feel like I’ve been working on these socks forever. I feel like they are the only knitted item I’ve looked at or talked about forever. I was so sure that I had blathered on way too much about these that I had to look back and see just how many times I’ve written posts about them. I was surprised it was only five and the entire process only took 24 days. I spent the better part of Wednesday and yesterday knitting away trying to get to the end. This morning I kitchenered the toes. It is time for me to work on something else, anything else. The pattern is Ein Himmel voller Luftballons by Martina Kuppler. Remember I only used the chart and numbers from the pattern. I knit my socks top down and used a heel flap instead of the short row heel. I also used google translate to help me with the German. The yarn is String Theory Caper sock in pewter. I loved knitting the legs of these socks. Adding beads to knitting is so much fun and really easy using the method I discussed here. I was totally zen about what color bead went where. I just picked them from a bowl at random and didn’t worry about there being too many of one color in one area. I had to do this or I would have had individual bowls for each color and made sure that no color was next to another color. I can obsess about the dumbest things if I let myself. The only thing that got me through knitting the feet of these socks was the yarn. I used crap metal needles and if the yarn hadn’t been so freaking nice I would have chucked the whole thing across the room. It’s soft and has lovely color variation. The stitches are so nice and smooth. I may have a new favorite sock yarn*.

I had been asked about the feel of the beads when the socks are on. Well, to be honest I don’t know how much I’ll actually wear these. They are much blingier than I ever am. But after trying them on I will tell you that I didn’t really notice the beads. The ones in the ribbed section are cushioned by yarn. The ones on the leg are on both the inside and outside of the sock but I didn’t mind the feel. It was less annoying than a tag in the neck of a shirt. My only concern would be that some of the lowest beads could rub inside a shoe. I did knit a plain round of knitting before I began the heel. I would not recommend wearing these with boots. The wear and tear on the socks/beads would be too much I would think.

If you’d like to read more FO Friday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

*Current Favorite mostly solid sock yarn. I reserve the right to change favorites at a moments notice.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FOF, knits, knitting, Loopy's Challenge, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to FO Friday: Finally Done!

  1. Trina says:

    So pretty. I’m in awe!

    Like

  2. maeussle says:

    They look really pretty! If I’d known about you when you were knitting these I could have helped you out with the German since I’m German…although the knitting language can be a language of its own…lol. I’ve knitted something with pearls before, but unfortunately the color of some of them came off after washing. I hope yours will be holding up 😉

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    I just love these. The bead colors and the yarn are such a good combination. If you don’t wear them they should be out some place where you can see them. 🙂

    Like

  4. ‘*Current Favorite mostly solid sock yarn. I reserve the right to change favorites at a moments notice’.
    The socks are fabulous. And I really identify with this quote!

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    These look like they could be sold at Ann Taylor. They’re beautiful. You need a sweater like this!

    Like

  6. Sam says:

    These are so pretty! Love them!

    Like

  7. Gorgeous, well worth the effort, and I loved watching you make them 🙂

    Like

  8. chrisknits says:

    They are stunning!!!! Wear them, often and proudly.

    Like

  9. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I agree with some of the other comments – YES, wear them (at least once – preferably to knit night!), YES, make a matching sweater and YES, if you’re not going to wear them, then display them (find some mannequin feet online and then make a lamp out of it – the light will make the beads sparkle)! 🙂

    Like

  10. Love these — how amazingly beautiful! You should check out the KAL I’m hosting — Socks with Sarah. A year-long knitalong in which the goal is to knit a little (or a lot) on socks every day. Pattern, yarn & pace is up to each knitter! You can check it out here: http://knittingsarah.com/2014/01/01/2014-kal-socks-with-sarah/
    and sign-up on our Ravelry thread here: http://www.ravelry.com/groups/friends-of-knitting-sarah
    We’d love to have you join!

    Like

  11. Pat(ricia) says:

    Awesome! They look totally awesome. And just the right amount of Bling.

    As for wearing them – hmmm – I’m not sure I would either – but then again, you just might sneak them on one day. Besides, sometimes I think it’s what we need – to knit a piece that just makes us feel good to look at it – not everything has to be about practicality – besides, you could always just let them sit out – artfully placed and enjoy them as craft pieces 😉

    However you use them – enjoy! They are lovely and gorgeous 🙂

    Like

  12. 2knit2purl says:

    Wow! Those are truly amazing!

    Like

  13. I love these, so cute and different and I bet my granddaughters would love them. I’ve been meaning to try knitting socks, but then the writing gets in the way and family history research. I need to find a great first easy pattern to put on my To Do list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

