WIP Wednesday: And It’s Only Wednesday

IMG_1881This week has sucked. We’re getting our second dumping of snow. I spent 2 hours and 45 minutes in the dentist chair yesterday having a tooth prepped for a crown and now all my teeth ache and so does my jaw. The grocery store was a madhouse full of snow panickers. My uncle died yesterday. (It’s a blessing really but not for the reasons you’d think.) I still haven’t finished my Christmas shopping. I can’t get beyond the ribbing of the Sparrow Fingerless Mitts. I seem to have lost the ability to follow a pattern. I really want to retreat and cast on a sock (head hat). Maybe I should offer you some cheese to go with this whine.

I’m going to get some slightly warm cocoa, a couple of Advil and a handful of stitch markers and revisit the mitts. I am passing on the wake and funeral. Why go when the only person you’d want to console is in the casket. I did get a lottery ticket but with the way my week is going I’m sure I won’t hit the big one.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, Quirky Knitter, this place, Those crazy holidays, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to WIP Wednesday: And It’s Only Wednesday

  1. *hug* (sounded like you could use one)

    Like

  2. Sounds like a hard week. Personally I’d cast on the hat, sometimes you need something simple and enjoyable to knit with your hands and give your mind a chance to think, or just a chance to not-think

    Like

  3. That is a really really rough week. I hope you are able to find some comfort in your cocoa and knitting.

    Like

  4. Gracey says:

    So sorry….that is a tough week…((hugs))

    Like

  5. Marilyn says:

    2 hrs and 45 mins? That’s a LONG time. o.0 Hope the rest of the work is quicker.
    Maybe set the mitts aside and indulge the urge for a hat or socks…
    Sending you a hug or two. 🙂
    xoxo

    Like

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your uncle. And all the other things making this week a whine and cheese fest. Why do these things always have to happen at the same time? Sending some good vibes your way. Maybe tomorrow will be better (??).

    Like

  7. Kepanie says:

    Lots going on. Do what you think is best. Thank goodness for yarn.

    Like

  8. Janet says:

    So sorry your week has been such a challenge. Sounds to me like you deserve a new cast on.

    Like

  9. What a horrible week! I hope things turn around for these last few days. Cocoa and knitting should help with that!

    Like

  10. Pat(ricia) says:

    Oh crap – I’m so sorry about it all – this totally sucks. Now, since I’m days behind, I do hope you’re feeling better – nothing hurts worse than dental work, imo – and I’m sorry for your loss. Better to rest and deal with the death personally, as it suits you best – imo once again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

