WIP Wednesday: Head Games

As I mentioned the other day I have been craving quick knits. I need that rush of satisfaction that only a finished object can supply. While trolling around on Ravelry I happened upon the Sockhead Hat pattern by Kelly McClure. Something about it and it’s many (3000+) projects just grabbed my attention. I remembered the skein of Misti Alpaca Handpainted Sock Yarn I had bought at Webs and knew it would be a perfect match. I cast on right away and soon realized that 4 inches of ribbing in fingering weight yarn is not for the faint of heart but somehow I made it though. I have just started the stockinette portion which will be a pleasure to knit while watching TV or talking with people. This could be my new go to pattern for mindless knitting instead of socks. Wow, did I just say that out loud?

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Head Games

  1. Vivianne says:

    OOoh snow ! And hats ! Snow and hats ! Cooooool 🙂

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    4″ of ribbing? You rock!
    Hats instead of socks? I’m shocked!
    (Hey I made a little rhyme!) 😀

    Like

  3. lottieknits says:

    Oh that looks really lovely, I love the colours of that yarn 🙂

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    That ribbing does sound tedious. But the pattern is lovely. I may make one also this winter 🙂 Thank you for sharing and good luck finishing her up!

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Love the yarn and the pattern – it’s going to be an AWESOME hat! Check out the Sock Yarn One Skein Wonders book for more ideas on using sock yarn for other projects besides socks – which, by the way, I can’t believe you just said that!

    Like

  6. Laura says:

    I know a few people who have fallen in love with the sockhead hat. Yours looks great, a really good match of pattern and yarn. Hope you have fun with it!

    Like

  7. Julie says:

    I have been eyeballing this pattern too – I have so many lovely skeins of sock yarn that would be perfect for it. I feared that it would be too boring for me, but your post convinces me otherwise. Also – I love the yarn. I made a fantastic pair of socks out of a SUPER loud skein of this yarn that I just couldn’t resist.

    Like

  8. Kepanie says:

    I LOVE wide headbands. Makes me feel like the beanie will be secure on my little noggin’ This is a great colorway.

    Like

  9. ellen says:

    Love the colors of this yarn. I would be the one to flinch at a 4″ fingering headband. I’m not used to these small needles and skinny yarn yet. Just learning the sock love. You are a sock knitting machine! I will have to try this pattern some day!

    Like

  10. Pat(ricia) says:

    As she keels over ….. oomph! Did you say “your go to project instead of socks?!???”

    Huh????

    lol – well, you go girl – besides, socks can *gulp* become tedious after a while, so it’s cool to mix it up with something equally but differently rewarding!

    Great pattern and super colorway of the yarn! Rock it out 🙂

    Like

  11. Janet says:

    Love the colors of the yarn for you hat. That’s a pattern I’d like to make sometime soon.

    Like

  12. chrisknits says:

    Yep, I am in hat mode too. just need quick and easy and small, baby hats are it. Still working on other things though not as quick.

    Like

  13. I love the yarn! Looking forward to seeing the finished article. Mindless knitting is wonderful.

    Like

  14. Sanja says:

    I love this hat. Slouchy, bright, warm. Perfect.

    Love of Cuteness

    Like

Leave a Reply

