Feeling Grinchy

I know I say it every year but this year I really mean it. I can’t believe it’s December. Christmas is right around the corner and I have done nothing to prep for it. Personally I would be happy to skip from December 24 to the 26th but all those other people who bog down my days have expectations and it falls on me to fulfill them. So I turned on the blog snow and we’ll see if this does anything to soften my feelings.

The other night I needed something to knit. I’ll call it a palate cleanser. Just something quick to give me the feeling like I’ve accomplished something without actually doing so. The pattern is Jester Hat by Elizabeth Morrison. The yarn is Lamb’s Pride bulky in grey heather. The pattern was very easy to follow and well written. The yarn perfect for the project. If I knit it again, and I would, I will make the body of the hat just a little longer. It fits OK but I like a hat that completely covers ears and this one doesn’t quite do that. I have gifted it to N since he is a hat snob and I thought maybe a whimsical hat might be more to his liking. Also he just got a new winter coat and a light grey hat would look perfect with it. Now he just needs a scarf. I’d like to knit him this but I suspect he wouldn’t wear it.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in blog stuff, blogging, knits, knitting, Those crazy holidays, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feeling Grinchy

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I am feeling very Grinchy this year too. I think it has to do with how fast the days fly by – didn’t we JUST do Christmas??? Love the hat and your snow. I hope it helps you get in the mood.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    The hat is adorable! Especially the little knitted ball…much better than a pom pom.
    I always like your blog snow. 😀

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    Cute hat! I want one. That’s a great peacoat you got your son. It’s terrific he would wear something like that.

    Like

  4. Great hat! I’m not feeling Grinchy – just not even remotely Christmassy.
    Nice snow. Hope it helps 🙂

    Like

  5. Pat(ricia) says:

    Great coat – and wonderful hat! Maybe N would wear that scarf – if the yarn and colors are right? It’s a beautiful pattern and seems pretty masculine – not too much fancy lace bits etc. Ask him what he thinks?

    Lol — I so hear you on the Grinchy end of things. Such a long and yet altogether too short month is December – all that work and wham – all over in a matter of hours. Try to simplify if you can. It might just make things easier. And yeah, get some knitting time in, to help ease the Blah feelings.

    Like

  6. chrisknits says:

    Just knit the scarf for yourself! I love the hat, must bookmark that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

