WIP Wednesday: Again With The Socks

I have made a wee bit more progress on the socks. They’re coming along just fine, but very slowly. Not knitting makes them moved along at an even slower pace, obviously. The pattern is my standard 64sts on size 1.5 needles. The yarn is a Knit Picks bare sock blank that was gifted to me eons ago by Beth. I dyed it with grape KoolAid in my crockpot. Then I wound it into two balls since knitting from the flat annoys me. Marilyn: There is a tiny hint of grape smell when you sniff the yarn up close. I am curious to see if when I wash them the smell becomes stronger or goes away completely.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting, WIPW. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Again With The Socks

  1. Marilyn says:

    Cool. Thanks! I thought they would be super strong smelling…or a combination between wooliness and grape.
    I like how the yarn is both heathered and striped!

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    Love the yarn color. I think I’d like the faint smell of grape. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    Ooh! I live seeing this colorway. I didn’t know you had dyed it with grape Kool Aid. I have a skein of bare fingering yarn. I must try that.

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Cool – scratch ‘n sniff socks!

    Like

  5. Julia M. says:

    Tell me about slowly growing socks! πŸ˜‰ I have the same problem right now … But the colour is beautiful! I’ll be knitting vanilla socks for me again, too – can’t wait! πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. chrisknits says:

    This photo shows the grape color much better. Love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

