6 Things

6 days ago I told Chris I would do the 6 things thing she got from Facebook that day. So it feels like I said it yesterday but yes, it was 6 days ago.

My 6 Things:

  1. There are not enough hours in my day. I don’t know how many hours you have but by the time I’ve slept for 8, served meals, given rides, grocery shopped, dealt with my parents and uncle and bathed I have about 2 hours left a week which I use for knit night. My house is really showing the neglect these days. I need to dust, vacuum, wash dishes and anything else that requires two hands. I can do some cleaning with one hand while I’m doing something else but not the above.
  2. When I was in college I worked at a chain drug store. We always dressed up for Halloween. My friend dressed as a nun one year. So many customers asked me, who was dressed as a cheerleader, if she was really a nun. I told them yes, things were getting a little tight for the convent and she was working to pay for their prescriptions. I’ll probably go to hell for that.
  3. I am obsessed with a relative who died 59 years before I was born. He’s kind of the key to everything and I have so many questions.
  4. I love to drive, particularly in traffic. I think I missed my calling as limo or taxi driver.
  5. Part 2: I yell at other drivers when I’m driving. I find it very cathartic. Don’t worry the windows are closed and they have no idea.
  6. Sometimes something will just pop into my brain and I’ll have to think about it for a moment. It could be anything but when it is a place, a mental view of a location I have to remember where it is. I can’t do anything else until I process it. I like to think of it as a piece of paper removed from a file. It needs just a moment of attention so it can be filed where it belongs. It’s amazing what my brain will spit up some days.
About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Quirky Knitter, self improvement, this place, You Asked For It. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 6 Things

  1. I’m still sniggering about number 2, but I could also have written numbers 4 and 5. Sadly I am not as good as you at making sure the window is closed! (That is also a problem as I sing in the car :0

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Totally agree with #1. Intrigued by #3 and 6. And I love to drive too but NOT in traffic. Guess we are opposites there…
    Been missing you, btw!
    xoxo

    Like

  3. chrisknits says:

    4, totally me!!! And now my kids do it. Ack, I have created monsters. Love your ist!

    Like

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Very interesting list…. You seem to have a lot on your plate these days. I hope things will settle down a little bit for you. I love to drive too, although these days it’s kind of uncomfortable for me to be in the car for long periods of time. I used to joke when I was in high school that I was going to become a truck driver because I loved to drive so much. Maybe we could go halfsies on a nice used semi???

    Like

  5. Kepanie says:

    #5 was fun to read. I was surprised about that. Good for you. I do the same.

    Like

  6. Pat(ricia) says:

    As she sits sniggering and laughing at your list – which is great by the way – especially the bit about the Halloween costume and hell – I swear Karen, you have the best and most wicked sense of style and humour. Hang in there – I’ve been MIA as well – things may be tough – and yes, I do “owe” you an email – and I will get to it – soon – but know that I have been thinking of you and everything you’re dealing with – so just hang on – try to get one little smidgen done at a time – step back and breathe – and yeah, squeeze in some knitting time – even if you have to lock yourself in the bathroom or something!

    Like

Leave a Reply

