WIP Wednesday: Stripes and Stuff

I greased and floured the pan hence the “dust”.

So remember how yesterday I told you all about my plan to bake some yummy stuff from the new cookbook I got. Well, the first attempt was different. I baked pumpkin bread. The recipe was straight forward, or so I thought. I did have to change one thing to insure that N could partake. I substituted butter for the oil. I melted the butter so it would be liquid as I found on multiple web sites explaining when and how to substitute butter for oil. I also skipped the raisins because if I left them no one else in this house would touch the bread. So I brought the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients together and it was way too dry. I couldn’t get all the flour to mix in and ended up falling back on what I have done in the past when faced with a baking dilemma, add cream. Everything is better with cream. So I added just enough cream to allow the dry stuff to get wet and then I realized that there was no where near enough batter to make 2 loaves as the recipe said it would. I just dumped it all into one pan and it turned out fine. More than half the loaf is gone so I call that a success.

They match!

Happily there is one thing moving along in my life that isn’t giving me any grief: the striped socks. They are moving along beautifully as expected and I am really looking forward to wearing them. That has to be one of the best things about knitting socks when the temperature is chilly. As soon as they are done I can slip them on my feet and enjoy. The yarn is Biscotte and Cie Felix, in what I believe is smokescreen, that was gifted to me by Pat. I am using my usual sock pattern over 64 stitches.

If you’d like to read more WIP Wednesday posts be sure to visit Tami’s Amis blog.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in baking, food, knits, knitting, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WIP Wednesday: Stripes and Stuff

  1. Lisa says:

    Woah, that is the most random loaf of bread I’ve ever heard of, but it sounds delicious! I am glad it works. I also LOVE the socks, what gorgeous stripes.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Glad that you were innovative and could rescue the bread. Hopefully the other recipes in the book are better.
    Such a beautiful shade of blue!

    Like

  3. Gosh, yummy! The bread AND the socks.

    Like

  4. Helen says:

    love your socks !!!!!

    Like

  5. Nancy says:

    They DO match. Good on you.

    Like

  6. Renee Anne says:

    Having to alter recipes can be such a PITA and half the time, even if you follow it exactly, it never comes out with as much as the recipe says. I’ve learned to just ignore recipes when they say things like “yields ____ amount.” It’s never right. ::sigh::

    Like

  7. Pat(ricia) says:

    Flexibility and variety are life’s spices! Pumpkin bread – oooh how fitting and obviously delicious. Quick thinking and great substitutions to help the recipe along. An obvious success as the family is munching away 🙂 And you’re right – cream? Lol – the cat’s meow 😉

    So it is the yarn? Ohh too cool. Really I am so blown away by the beauty of this self-striping – I had thought that maybe I wouldn’t be so crazy of it myself, with the breaks being as obvious as they are – *chunky* and all – but wow – it is gorgeous!

    I am so glad that you’re enjoying and having great times and fun with these. Happy knitting and happy feet = happy Karen! 🙂

    Yay!

    Like

  8. Lovely socks 🙂 I bake in a similar way to you, I nearly always end up modifying a recipe some how even if it’s just adding a different seasoning

    Like

  9. Carolyn says:

    My that pumpkin bread looks delicious. I understand why it’s gone. I absolutely love the socks. Very pretty !

    Like

  10. Kepanie says:

    Smart thinking on the loaf. It looks good. The sock is awesome. Fun stripes and clean.

    Like

  11. Both bread and socks look fabulous. I wish we could get the smell of the bread over the internet – but that is a bit Wonka.

    Like

Leave a Reply

