Reading And A Plan

I enjoy reading but I never seem to have time to devote to it. When I try to read fiction before bed I always fall sleep. It isn’t that the book is boring, I am just tired and when I hit the pillow I am programmed to fall immediately to sleep. Most of my reading is magazines. I love National Geographic: good articles, great photos! I also enjoy any food magazine. So as you may be able to guess I’m more of a nonfiction kind of gal. Over the summer I picked up Baking Boot Camp just to flip though a few pages while waiting for The Husband to pick out some sort of man thing. I ended up buying the book because I loved the premise so much. The author went to a 5 day baking course at the CIA: Culinary Institute of America, not the other one. The book consists of the story of what they did each day, how she felt and what she learned and then there are the recipes and actual lessons. As I sat devouring the book on my first read through I made a plan. I was going to try baking the lessons from the book, not all of them, just the ones that I really wanted to learn. Croissants I’m looking at you. Well I haven’t had any time what with The Parents needs and The Hive incident but the weather has turned colder and the weekends are full of cub scout events that are just for the menfolk so I may be able to squeeze in a recipe or two. So that’s the plan: bake fattening baked goods that I’ve never made before. How can that be a bad thing.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in baking, books, food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading And A Plan

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sounds like an excellent plan to me! For a minute there I thought maybe you were going to do a remake of the book and movie…Julie & Julia where Julie makes every recipe in Julia Child’s cookbook! 😀

    Like

  2. Kepanie says:

    That sounds like a fun and interesting book. It’ll be fun to see what you make.
    I like watching the National Geographic channel and the Discovery channel. There are so many interesting, scientific bits about our world.

    Like

  3. Janet says:

    I can’t think of anything wrong with your plan. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing what you bake first.

    Like

  4. Pat(ricia) says:

    roflmao – okay I *LOVE* the idea of the CIA (intelligence one) sitting around the bureau and wearing chef’s attire, discussing recipes and baking ….. I love how you turn a phrase Karen!

    This sounds like a really interesting book and certainly like it would be something you would definitely enjoy – so yeah, sneak in some -shefolk in the kitchen time when you feel up to it and give it a whirl. I’m sure you will be happily munching away when the menfolk return to a warmed and bakery smelly goodness house as the family gathers round and “breaks bread … er croissants.” Damn, I wish I was your neighbour 😉

    Looking forward to a post or two about the adventures and challenges you will try from this baking treasure. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

