Fashion Backward?

Nothing about me is fashion forward. I dress for warmth and comfort before all else. I am aware that there are ways of looking nice and still being comfortable and warm. Because I am aware, I have tried to “dress” up my outfits (aka jeans and a long sleeve tee-shirt) with a scarf, cowl or shawl. I’m afraid I have to admit that I am not great at accessorizing my wardrobe. The temperature has taken a turn for the colder so I have been trying out the new knits I’ve made over the last few months. First I wore my Arroyo with my plain black winter jacket. Yes, I was warm but I didn’t have that cool Gap fashionista look I thought I’d get.  I thought maybe what I needed a splash of color so I wore my Amish Yarn Stretcher.  Again, the look fell flat. Today I wore my Honey Cowl with my black jacket. Wow it sure is warm but it didn’t make the outfit. I’m wondering if maybe what I need is a short lacy cowl knit in a lovely soft silky yarn. Or maybe just a new winter jacket?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fashion Backward?

  1. Marilyn says:

    I love people watching and have always wondered how some people get that pulled together, fashion perfect look. It must take a lot of planning or lots of clothes and accessories. I haven’t been able to achieve it so I’m no help here! Just know that you are not alone in dressing in tshirts and jeans and wishing for a better look. I’m the same.

    Like

  2. Kepanie says:

    Neutrals with a pop of color always works. The pop of color can be your hair accesory, shawl, shoes, or one garment. You have great neutrals here and that shawl is a nice pop of color. Black is a nice neutral as are blue jeans. Maybe you felt it fell flat because you’re not used to dressing that way? I’vebeen shopping from my closet and using Pinterest as inspiration. I have a board called Give Me a Fashion Clue to help.

    Like

  3. streepie says:

    put my sister in a pair of jeans and a simple shirt, she will look put together. Put me into a pair of jeans and a simple shirt, I will not. I don’t know why, but that’s the way it is…
    A pop of colour (that suits you!) is always good in enhancing any outfit!

    Like

  4. salpal1 says:

    maybe it isn’t; as flat as you think – have you got someone who’s opinion you trust who has good taste? Ask them to critique your various outfits. Because those knit things you have look great – so it might be that you just aren’t used to how it looks and feels? Like Streepie, I have a sister who looks pulled together in the most grungy outfit you can imagine, yet I can put on my best outfit and not look so good. So, it might be me, or it might be my perception of me. Let’s go with the latter!

    Like

  5. soknitsome says:

    If you knit a cowl or shawlette with a variety of colours (think Noro) you should be able to wear it with a number of sweaters or jackets for a varied look. I like shawlettes because you can wear them with the point in front (bandit style) or wind them round more like a loop. Even if they don’t match your jacket they are nice scarves that keep your neck warm – hold your head high and feel proud of your craftsmanship!

    Like

  6. 1) it doesn’t really matter as long as you’re warm and comfortable 🙂 anyone who is judging is not someone whose opinion should matter.
    2) I agree with salpal’s comment!

    Like

  7. The best accessory you can have is confidence.Wear what you feel great in, stand tall and smile. Your knits are fabulous so I am sure that anyone looking will be both admiring and envious 🙂

    Like

  8. Lisa says:

    It’s so easy and hard at the same time to be cute when it’s cold. Easy because it’s more common to knit winter knits, but hard because they you have to pair them with things. I am sure there is something in your closet that will work out 🙂

    Like

  9. Pat(ricia) says:

    Speaking as one who has to force herself out of holey sweatpants – and this coming from one who used to work in high end fashion retail sales – blah blah blah – many lifetimes ago – I *so* understand you.

    I bet *part of the problem* lies in how you are generally feeling about yourself. And, if I may be so bold, it’s not the finished knitting pieces that seem or ARE wrong – it’s the fact that you’ve accomplished them, have admired them, shown us them, and put them down. I can also bet that to a certain degree you are a *challenged* knitter – meaning you choose and challenge yourself, accomplish and then think okay. But it doesn’t mean that you are necessarily happy with it – whatever you’ve knit – for yourself.

    I’ve recently had the same thing happen. Knitted the Lagoon shawl and then admired it and thought – well okay – now what. And it felt so wrong to wear it – but I have kept on wearing it, even in the house, because my neck gets chilled – and you know what, it’s all good.

    Karen, just give yourself some time to get used to and into the groove of wearing these beautiful creations. You’ve labored over them, so give yourself time to learn to like.love yourself in them – and you know what – wear them when you feel comfortable with them – as in with the clothes you most love – and feel good to you. It doesn’t matter if it doesn’t match or Trinny and Suzanna are going to come running out at you – honestly – just be comfortable in your own skin.

    And for what it’s worth – the very few times I have ever worn knitted pieces intended for myself – it has been a haphazard affair – and every.single.time – people have stopped and commented on the handiwork – not the overall clothing effect. So be proud and wear your things well.

    Okay …. enough of my blabbing on.

    Like

  10. Michelle says:

    I’m with you on the warmth and comfort zone. I would much rather be cozy than look cute; though, looking cute is nice too. I’m also a terrible accessorizer, but I’m working on it. I find that Pinterest is a really great tool. I try to break down the elements of styling I like. So, I’m not necessarily recreating a look, rather using the same elements I’m seeing in pictures to build my own.

    Like

  11. chrisknits says:

    I saw both! cowl and jacket. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

